Catching up on my reading today…


No, I’m not talking about “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince”, though I’ve been enjoying reading that. :)

More like my assigned reading for the CSSF Short Fiction workshop in Kansas, that I’ll be leaving for in a little over a week. I’ve got 22 short stories now, and 2 that are overdue but should be coming in soon – eight other workshoppers, three stories each. I said that this year, I wanted to have the critiques done for all those stories before I get on the plane. I’m not sure if I’ll manage that, but I’m certainly doing better on the ‘first read through’ stage than I was last year – I was doing first read throughs on the plane, and catching up on them my first few days on the plane.

There’s a lot of interesting stuff in the batch so far, and some stuff that’s just made me go ‘huh?’ at this point. I’ve been noticing quite a few dystopian, totalitarian futures so far, and not very much traditional fantasy aside from mine. I may turn out to be the fantasy guy in the group this time around. (I wasn’t last year, because I didn’t feel comfortable submitting any fantasy.)

I also wrote about 1350 words on ‘Making the Deal’ for Camp Nanowrimo today, putting myself in excellent position to finish that story and begin #7 tomorrow, and I procrastinated some by cooking up beef soup and burning video files onto DVDs.

2 Responses to Catching up on my reading today…

  1. Donna Hole says:

    You have to read 22 short stories for the work shop? Are those all from the other participants. Wow, that’s a lot of reading. I hope you had a few months to get it done.

    I love pure fantasy; I miss it. Urban and paranormal fantasy are cool, but nothing beats an old fashion quest.

    …….dhole

    Like

  2. I have to read 24 short stories – the last two just arrived. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 999 other followers

