Reading aloud and adding extra pages.


Well, it’s late, and I’ve spent a lot of the evening reading my Script Frenzy screenplay aloud to myself, which is a really good way of doing editing I usually find – a lot of simple changes and alternate phrasings just seem to come to me when I’m reading my own words out. But it does take some time.

I wanted to get the script in good shape to print a full copy out and show it off at the writers’ circles this week, maybe even give it to somebody else to review for a few weeks before giving it back to me. There was a gentleman at the New Writing Workshop last time who seemed very interested and knowledgeable about screenwriting.

So I’ve finished editing the entire project, (very casually, but that’s okay for a first printing I think,) and sent it off to Staples. This is the first time I’ve used a print shop since getting my Brother laser printer on boxing day, because I really wanted to get the full professional treatment on this – double-sided pages, spiral binding, stiff cardboard covers, and the whole thing. So I guess I’ll be heading over to the Staples on Barton street after work tomorrow to pick it up.

Interestingly enough, Staples printing price structure gives you a noticeable price break at 100 pages – you’d pay nearly two dollars more to print only ninety-nine. And after making a few of my changes and deleting some extraneous dialog, I was down to ninety-nine pages. Looked around in the Celtx options for anything that would take up another page, and found the choice to add a few extra lines before each scene header. Good enough, back to one hundred pages.

Except I realized that the price was going up quite a lot when I picked the option to actually have the title page printed out on the cover, and then realized that was because it didn’t count the title page as one of the hundred anymore. I was down to ninety-nine, and Celtx doesn’t let you just type in blank lines at the end of the project and print them off.

I actually tried typing in a lot of lines with just a . after each, but that didn’t look too good, and I thought of something else.

Hard page breaks!

I inserted hard page breaks around my act breaks, and that got me back up. 101 pages out of Celtx, which goes down to 100 after the title page is diverted to the cover. Excellent stuff.

I’m off to sleep now.

8 Responses to Reading aloud and adding extra pages.

  1. Trisha says:

    Formatting is such a funny thing isn’t it? 🙂

    Congrats on getting through that first edit! I should read my MS aloud…maybe it’ll help. But I’m torn…I want to print it out but I also want to edit it again before I do. 😉

    Printing an entire MS/script like that is a pretty big commitment!

    Like

  2. Margo Kelly says:

    congrats!!

    Reading out loud makes a huge difference. I feel silly doing it – – but it’s necessary!
    🙂

    Like

  3. Michael says:

    Ooo nothing like a finished product even if it is spiral bound. It gives you closure.

    Like

  4. Sandi Ormsby says:

    Funny how you have to get creative to get those price breaks…

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, California USA

    Like

  5. There’s nothing like a brand new printed copy of your work. It just makes it feel more real, I think. I just wish it wasn’t so expensive…

    Like

  6. Donna Hole says:

    I’ve printed my ms out at home on my printer, and discovered the amount of ink it uses is almost as expensive as taking it to staples. Weird, huh?

    ……..dhole

    Like

  7. Sounds like you got it to turn out just the way you wanted it. I have never thougth about printing mine out like that. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

