Odd Fridays at Runnymede are… odd.


So, I’m back to the Starbucks on Bloor street near Runnymede in Toronto, and not entirely sure if I’m having a good time or not. Ah well.

(I saved my draft after that opening paragraph, partly because I didn’t really want somebody to look over at my laptop screen and notice what I was blogging about, and partly because somebody mentioned the idea of doing a word war.)

I’m glad I went back to Runnymede. The last time, four weeks ago, was in the middle of the excitement about Script Frenzy, and that common goal kind of helped me bond with the TorontoNanoers gang who were there. This time – well, everybody was friendly, but I still had that sense sometimes when I go to a new social situation, that everybody else knows each other really well and are talking about in-jokes that I don’t get, so I just kind of stay quiet and do my own thing or listen. Usually, coming out a few more times with the same group helps me break out of my shell a little bit, because I get to know familiar faces and what to talk to them about.

Next odd Friday will be May the 27th. I’m not sure if I’m going to go back to Runnymede for that, but probably I should if I don’t have a really good reason not to.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 742 other followers

