How I miss you, Canada


Or at least, I think I will when this post is published, and Canada day comes. I’m writing nearly a week in advance, setting up blog material for the Kansas trip so that I don’t need to worry about going online to update the Kelworth files in the middle of the CSSF workshop.

But I’m going to be away from Canada for July 1st, probably for the first time since I was five or so, as far as I can remember. (That was the first big family trip to England in my life.)

It’s hard to pin down quite what Canada means to me, other than a kind of vague and fuzzy sense of ‘home-ness’. In my travels, the only other two countries I’ve ever been to have been the UK and the USA – neither of which are quite like Canada, true, but neither of them are really very far apart from us either. The UK is where a lot of my roots are, as well as a lot of Canadian roots in general, and the USA is our nearest neighbor, the source of most of the television and movies that I watch, and a lot of the books that I read. (Though you can’t entirely count out the Irish authors!)

To me, Canada is a maple dip donut at Tim Horton’s, and laid-back political discussions about proroguing and the NDP. It’s the CN tower in the Toronto skyline, the GO trains and VIA rail, and the funny one-way streets in Hamilton.

PS: I’m logging in from Kansas to post this, but can’t think of anything to add. Happy 144th birthday, Canada. Thanks for being there for all of us, and may you prosper for hundreds of years more.

5 Responses to How I miss you, Canada

  1. roguemutt says:

    Ha ha ha. Last year I went on vacation to Toronto and was very, very happy to get back to the States. Driving through Canada is just the worst. There aren’t any billboards or rest stops, so it’s mile after mile of boring countryside with no easy access to anywhere if you got to go. Plus I’m such a suspicious character they had to search me in Sarnia. Oh yeah and that stupid law where I have to pay a nickel to get a bag at stores. I’m glad I didn’t have to go grocery shopping while I was there.

    USA! USA!

    Like

  2. Happy Canada Day… I hope that you get to spend next Canada Day back here…

    As for the nickle thing..It is something they put in so that people use less plastic bags..They are trying to cut back on trash and get people to use reusable bags instead..It has helped to cut back a lot of trash. Canada is a lovely place to visit and sight see.

    Like

  3. Madeline says:

    I’ve never been to Canada, but as a hockey fan, I love the country. I wish I was Canadian. Someday I’ll visit it, and the first place I’ll stop is Tim Horton’s. Happy Canada Day!

    Like

  4. thetop7 says:

    Canada is an amazing place to live. Happy Canada Day http://wp.me/p1eOmN-yh

    Like

  5. Catherine Johnson says:

    Well said! What a lovely day it’s been. Enjoy your trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

