First drafts…


We’ve been talking quite a bit about first drafts versus revisions here at the workshop, especially because a lot of the process is critiquing and revising. One thing that I thought was interesting was the notion that a lot of the participants, and apparently a lot of sci-fi/fantasy writers, prefer revising to writing a first draft.

I can’t really understand this. I usually have a lot of fun writing the first draft, and less so when revising – because the revising is where the hard stuff starts. (Not a hard and fast rule.) And Chris M said something to me when critiquing my scene yesterday that maybe I should try to concentrate on writing the best word, and not writing too many words. That’s good advice, but I’m not sure that I’ll worry about it too much in my first drafts. There’s plenty of time to focus on that level of detail with revisions.

2 Responses to First drafts…

  1. Carol Riggs says:

    Wow, now I don’t mind and I even LIKE revision, but I wouldn’t say I like it MORE than doing the first, freeing, no-holds-barred draft. It should flow, and if you try too hard the first time, you can cramp that flow. Sometimes I try for the right word, but if it doesn’t come right away during a rough draft, I highlight it in red and worry about it later. 🙂

    Like

  2. Crystal says:

    I am right there with you. Writing the first draft is where all the freedom is, and I try to just get stuff on the page or screen. It sounds like you’ve found your process anyways, so I say keep doing what you’re doing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

