Fan Expo 2011 impressions – day one.


So I’ve been to Fan Expo for the afternoon, and the first thing that struck me was how much more orderly it was than last year – possibly just on account of it being Thursday, and nobody being around, but still, I was expecting to wait in line for a while with my wristband for a while before being let in at four o’clock. Instead, the people who’d got their armbands delivered were just about put on the greased skids until they got to the sales floor entryway, which suggests to me that the convention actually opened a little bit earlier than it was supposed to. Not that I’m complaining.

I had a lot of fun playing a D&D 4th edition low level adventure, (though the rules were kinda confusing me,) and got one email address in the speed dating – that I can’t entirely decipher. :( Oh well, quite possibly it was from one of the girls who I carefully left my cell phone number with, and maybe she’ll get in touch with me.

I also scouted out the sales floor and the signature line spots, and made my first purchases of the weekend – a little hardcover copy of “Doctor Who: The Glamour Chase” and a Doctor Who sound effects key fob.

I’m looking forward to the rest of the convention, and planning to be smart and careful when it comes to the potential for crowds and lines. I signed up for another gaming session, for the Serenity RPG tomorrow, and I’m interested in doing the introduction to LARPing on Sunday. That’ll leave all of Saturday free for signature lines, Q&A’s, and other panels.

 

2 Responses to Fan Expo 2011 impressions – day one.

  1. Regina says:

    Sounds like you are having a lot of fun! :)

  2. avatar139 says:

    Good luck with the LARPing, Chris!

    I’ve done it a few times with some of my friends at a great local group that meets in a park overlooking the SFBay every week!

    The good news is that now that I’m gainfully employed full time and can afford my recently purchased gym membership I expect I’ll start getting back up there soon to help get back into shape!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 780 other followers

