Rule of Three: Just where is Renaissance?


Hi, everybody. It’s time for part one of my Rule of Three story. I’m really excited about this extended blogfest, especially because I have just no idea how it’s going to turn out.

A few notes before I start. I didn’t realize until after I finished that I could choose just a few of the prompts for part one, so I managed to squeeze them all into less than 500 words, with rather silly results. I also felt it was important for my characters to place Renaissance into the geography of their world, which closely matches ours – though I fudged the details a little, as you’ll see.

This first part is from the POV of Princess Naveli Brussard.

“Why did you bring me to this stupid place?” I complained, looking around the simple wood and brick buildings at the heart of Renaissance.

“That’s not fair, Naveli,” my big sister Sami shot back. “You were the one who said that you wanted to be able to go on a Royal mission sometime.”

“Yeah, well, going on a mission is one thing – being pulled out of my bed at four in the morning and bundled onto an aeroplane is…”

“…Is what Royal missions are like more often than not, in my experience, Your Highness,” Tom Danter, Sami’s suitor, put in. “Except that it’s often a motor car or a train instead of a plane.”

“Well, then at least I’d have some clue what continent I’m in,” I muttered, shooting Tom a dirty look for trying to play peacemaker and stop the argument.

“Asia – specifically, the foothills of India,” Sami explained, just like the know-it-all she is. “Or something like that. Come on, we’re wasting daylight.” She led the way to a particular building.

Tom followed her across the street, so I brought up the rear. “And just what’s the mission objective? Are we here to find a powerful magik spell from a reclusive warlock? Negotiate with the leader of a council of intelligent animals? Fight a battle against hostile Saurians?”

Sami and Tom waited up for a moment, and I walked in between, guessing what was coming next. My sister leaned close to whisper. “Our royal mother’s sources indicate that there’s a Shifter somewhere in Renaissance. Just like in the old stories, they meddle with the affairs of men, so we need to find out who isn’t what they seem and what their agenda is – no matter what.”

“Misfortune will befall you!” someone yelled from not far away. We broke out of our huddle, and each turned to look at the old lady wearing her thick black dress.

I rolled my eyes, but Tom seemed to take the crazy woman seriously. “Can you be more specific, oracle?”

“Well, it’ll happen like this,” she screeched, and pulled out a hand puppet out of her pocket. “You’ll be walking along somewhere, and there’ll be a slippery piece of trash on the floor in front of you, see?” She mimed the hand puppet strutting along, and I had to giggle. “You won’t see it before you tread on the thing, and stumble. It’ll be somewhat humorous, but definitely a misfortunate circumstance.”

“Well, thank you, my lady.” Tom bowed to the lady. In response, she cackled, and ran off like she was doing the five hundred meter. Sami shrugged, continued on to open the door into a smoky tavern, and held it for the two of us.

As soon as I was inside, my eyes were drawn to a girl wearing an apron. She had dusky skin and straight black hair, and in that moment I might have fallen in love.

22 Responses to Rule of Three: Just where is Renaissance?

  1. That’s hilarious! A hand puppet! I love that you got all 4 prompts into this and you kept in to the 500 words.

    Like

  2. Donna Hole says:

    Nice work Chris 🙂 I loved the sense of adventure, humor, romance, and of course, impending disaster. Nice leave for the next prompt.

    …….dhole

    Like

  3. Great piece! The hand puppet was hilarious.

    And I like the way you fit all the prompts into the story–I tried, but didn’t manage it.

    Like

  4. Rick G says:

    The hand puppet definitely won me over. They just don’t make portents of doom like they used to. 🙂

    Like

  5. Oh this is a great one! I managed to squeeze in only 3 of the prompts, but I love your “humor” – which was the one I just could not manage :)))

    I have to admit, it too me a while to find your blog again, amidst all those Campaigners and Renaissancers etc. … but after all, it was through you that I learned about the Rule Of Three Blogfest, so I really wanted to read your story, too.

    Like

  6. Jana Denardo says:

    This was fun and I admire that you managed to get all four prompts into this. I loved the hand puppet. I’m enjoying seeing how different these all are from one another, mine included.

    Like

  7. I could just imagine the crazy old woman running up with her hand puppet just to mess with people for the fun of it. But maybe she is predicting their future. It’d be nice to know I needed to look more closely to where I’m stepping so I don’t make a fool of myself. =) Nice working all the prompts too.

    Like

  8. awesome piece, I am excited to read more. Loved the hand puppet!

    Like

  9. Sarah McCabe says:

    A bit silly, yes. But thanks for bringing a smile to my face. 🙂

    Like

  10. Kurt says:

    Really love the absurd sense of humor. Great start!

    Like

  11. J.C. Martin says:

    This is a note to say that I’ve been by to read your entry. As one of the judges, I don’t want to make any specific comments that could betray my judgement — keeps you guys in suspense for longer! 🙂 Suffice it to say that I’m truly enjoying all the different and creative takes on Renaissance and the Rule of 3!

    J.C.

    Like

  12. Great job, I really like this! I love the oracle woman. 🙂

    Like

  13. deniz says:

    Interesting! I can’t wait to see who the woman actually is…

    Like

  14. This Renaissance looks like a really interesting place. Good job.

    Like

  15. Stopping by on my way through the REN3 entries 🙂 Thanks for joining us, looks like you’re off to a good start! (As one of the hosts/judges, I’m trying to limit my comments so as not to unduly influence any opinions.)

    It would appear that everyone loves the puppet 🙂 Quite a challenge, using all of the prompts – and now you’ve got lots of ways you can go with this!

    Like

  16. Kwee Lewis says:

    I am enchanted by your characters. Wow, getting all the prompts used! Part Two looks like it will be fun here.

    Like

  17. A mix of everything makes a good story. I liked the oracle. Reminded me of Macbeth 🙂 Plus the ending was really endearing 🙂

    Like

  18. I like silly, but you also brought in one of my favorite things: puppets. I hope the puppet is one of your main characters. Now, wouldn’t THAT be fun?

    Stuart
    Tale Spinning
    co-host #REN3

    Like

  19. Finally finished Round One prompts just in time for Round Two. That cackling old lady cracked me up.

    Like

  20. Daina says:

    All four prompts? Well done 🙂 Love the characters, I can’t wait for them to find the Shifter. Off to read the next part!

    Like

  21. So much fun! Playing catch up so I have part two ready and waiting for me to read too! 🙂

    Like

  22. Anna says:

    Love Princess Naveli’s voice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

