Rule of Three #3: Can’t fight your fate


Part OnePart Two

Hey, there, Renaissance fans! This time, I’m taking the POV of Tom Danter, and have clocked myself at 585 words. The prompt that called out to me was:

The impending misfortune foreshadowed in the 1st prompt comes to pass, but one or more characters laugh at it.

Water splashed in my face and I spluttered. When my eyes could focus, I was looking at a petite girl with wild auburn curls.

“Are you the car that hit me?” I croaked.

“No. I’m Rachel Hyde, and I own the spell shop, Magic Moments. I was coming for lunch and saw Ixtachul jump you from behind. We’d better be quiet…”

“Who’s Ixtachul?” I asked, barging past Rachel, through an open closet door, and out into the tavern hallway near the restrooms. “Is he a…” At that point, caution managed to penetrate my brain, and I shut the closet door on both of us from the inside. “Is that a shape shifter that you’re talking about?”

“One of the old gods,” Rachel muttered, frowning. “Yes, he can change his form – he walked away wearing your skin, whoever you are.”

“They’re NOT gods,” I muttered. “What other powers does he use?” Shape shifters had magikal powers beyond those of Queens, but they didn’t always show them freely to mortals. If Ixtachul was trying to trick Sami and assume my identity, I couldn’t wait long.

“He’s strong, and calls forth fire to punish his enemies,” Rachel said. “The whole town suffers under his yoke. Please, you have to help us!”

I thought about that. The sisters and I probably couldn’t vanquish a shifter – not without killing half the town in the crossfire. And I wasn’t sure we could bribe or entice him to leave Renaissance. “I’ll do what I can, if you help me save my love,” I promised Rachel.

“Let me scout out the way, then,” she suggested. “If Ixtachul sees you, he’ll know that he is found out.” And she slipped out of the closet. I followed, keeping out of sight and listening to the front room.

What I heard was a loud clatter of flying cutlery and breaking furniture. “Hey, bud,” Naveli called. “Nobody picks on my big sister like that but me!”

“Oh, no.” Sami’s little sister had courage to spare, but she couldn’t deal with Ixtachul on her own, and could get herself killed – or Sami, if the Heiress Royale tried to protect her little sister. Rachel cleared her throat noisily. “Um, excuse me, your highness; I have those books you wanted to see – when you finish this…”

Rachel’s voice trailed off into gurgles, and a deep one rumbled, “Keeping the sisters here quietly, witch, and I may yet let your house of trinkets stand. But defy me, and…”

I decided that it was a good time to make my move, and charged out from the hidden hallway. Unfortunately, I was too busy looking to see who was where to watch where I stepped, and one foot flew out from under me, leaving me sprawled flat on my back. The little plastic bag that I’d slipped on landed nearby. The shifter snickered malevolently, and a waitress broke out into nervous giggles. The old lady out in the street had spoken truth.

I looked up to Ixtachul, and saw that he was still wearing my face, and body, without any clothes on – and the member between his legs was green. A shifter can never imitate the human form perfectly, though they can hide their flaws under clothing. How had the sisters managed to expose his secret?

Sami and Naveli were standing together, glaring at the impostor. “I wouldn’t advise continuing hostilities,” Sami told him. “You shouldn’t test the might of our family magik. If you tell us what you need, we can bargain.”

12 Responses to Rule of Three #3: Can’t fight your fate

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    Awesome! I love the fun twist at the end.

    Like

  2. Making my rounds of the 3rd week entries 🙂 That would be just my luck, to slip and fall on a plastic bag.

    Like

  3. Hahahaha damn… all the heroics stopped by an errant piece of plastic. ^_^

    Like

  4. Got to love shifters. Excellent installment! 🙂

    Like

  5. Ah, what a great way to continue this story! And it seems to lead to a great finale next week.

    Like

  6. Ready for a knockdown dragout next week!

    Like

  7. Jana Denardo says:

    I loved all the magical elements in this scene.

    Like

  8. Lisa says:

    I love a good bargaining session~

    Like

  9. Anna says:

    Haha! the crazy prediction came to pass! =)
    Can’t wait for your conclusion….

    Like

  10. REALLY looking forward to week four.

    Stuart
    co-host #REN3
    Tale Spinning

    Like

  11. Donna Hole says:

    That was fun. I loved how it all tied together at the end. The negotiation should be fun 🙂

    …….dhole

    Like

Leave a Reply

