Even the Ruby servers are meditating…


…to prepare for Nanowrimo, of course! 🙂 I just got this message when I went to http://www.nanowrimo.org/

I’ve never seen that error message before. Must be a Ruby on Rails thing.

So, what am I meditating on, with two days and odd hours before November 1st? Well, I’ve been planning on how I’m going to take the Alphasmart Dana with me everywhere, and swap out files in progress using the memory card for when I want to write on the laptop. I’m pondering banning myself from watching television until I’ve reached my quota of 2500 words a day – I’ve got to hit 50k by the 20th of November, so I can ring the bell at the Night of Writing Dangerously!

I’ve been thinking of what I know about my characters, realizing that Melissa Dempsey isn’t entirely a sweet ingenue, that she’s got a mean streak, and putting that together with everything else I ever worked out about the Star Patrol universe.

And I’m also loving the notion of ‘Writer’s Improv’, thank you Storywonk, which reminds me of Worldbreaker, which was an improv-like worldbuilding game, where everybody added one more detail in turn until the details started to get so specific that they were more like plot than background.

Can’t wait for Nano. How about you?

3 Responses to Even the Ruby servers are meditating…

  1. Andrea S. Michaels says:

    It’s getting exciting now, isn’t it? That server meditating thing is quite funny though, haven’t seen that myself either 🙂
    It looks like you’re absolutely ready now!

    Like

  2. All the best for NaNoWriMo 2011 🙂 Have a great month of story making!

    Like

  3. I am right in the middle of “can’t wait till it starts” and “I’m not ready to start yet”.
    Since I already know that “improvising” brings me only so far, I had hoped to have at least a rough outline for the story and characters. But I realized at the weekend that my story has some essential holes … I didn’t really know what my characters wanted etc..
    I believe I have solved some of the problems … but I’m not really feeling ready yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

