Falling for Nanowrimo, too literally.


Current word count: 8,006. Yay! At this rate, I’ll be finished too soon, on November 18th.

My main character just made the transition from Science Fiction through to a fantasy framework, after the aliens transferred his brainwaves into their crystal.

Unfortunately, I was a little too wrapped up in the story when I got off the B-line bus on my way to the write-in tonight. There was a loose projection in the sidewalk that I tripped over, and actually had a moment where I thought “I tripped. Can I get my balance back? No, I’m goin’ down. Dammit, I can’t help but land on my bag, I hope I don’t break anything expensive.”

I didn’t break anything at all, as far as I can tell, but I skinned my knee, and also the fabric of the dark blue pants I was wearing. Which suggests that sometime during November I should probably squeeze in a couple hours to go shopping for new clothes.

Have you suffered for Nano over the last few days?

6 Responses to Falling for Nanowrimo, too literally.

  1. Kelly says:

    No, but I’ve fallen just like that, complete with the inner dialogue.

    Like

  2. Oh man! Be careful. I need you to be in one piece so you can continue being my writing buddy!

    Glad to hear you didn’t break anything, electronic or otherwise. Me, I locked the back gate without closing it first, leaving it wide open all night long, and the next morning, when both the dog and the cat went charging out into the back yard. (Fortunately, my cat is a scaredy cat, and was terrified by the opening where there is usually a gate, and so did not run away.) There have been numerous lapses in memory and judgement in the last couple of days. I think I’m caught up on sleep, though, so I should be back on track now.

    Let’s NaNoWriMo safely!

    Like

  3. Glad you didn’t break anything and well done you – not on the falling obvs.
    I’ve suffered an everything overload. I’m trying to play a Nano catch-up as I’m way behind. 😦 It seems like this week all the time I had got taken up by the unexpected. But it’s weekend so that should help.

    Like

  4. I suffer from too little sleep … or rather my day-job suffers πŸ™‚
    Well, and sometimes my writing, too, because I just can’t think anymore.

    Like

  5. Happy NaNo Day Five!

    Wow you’re doing so well so far!!! That’s a beautiful word count right there. I’m not even sure you’ll need much championing this year, but I’ll do my best.

    Hopefully the initial excitement is still going strong, but if not I’ve come with a toolbox of inspiration. Ready?

    First, quote of the day: Don’t give up what you want most for what you want right now.

    Second, NaNo Tip of the Day: Don’t forget to reward yourself. It is often easier to notice our lagging word count numbers than to notice how far we’ve already come.

    Good luck!!! Just keep writing!!!

    Like

  6. Hey Chris,
    Glad you didn’t break anything and weren’t hurt too bad. And if you fall behind later on, you could work the whole incident into your NaNo project. πŸ™‚

    The only suffering I’ve experienced so far this year is sleep deprivation, which I kind of expected. And I’ll probably suffer with my butt growing anotoher pants size by December, with all the NaNo junk food I’m scarfing down. Oh yeah, and the caffeine shakes from the bucket loads of coffee I’m chuggin’, which is probably mostly responsible for my sleeplessness when I crawl into bed at 2 am.

    Happy NaNoing πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

