Nano Spotlight: Scott’s Written Words


Hello, everybody. Today I’d like to send the spotlight out for Written Words, and Scott Bury.

How and why did you end up participating in National Novel Writing Month?
This is the first time I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo. I had heard about it for the first time maybe two years ago, just after it ended, and thought I should try it out. I missed it last year, as I was putting the finishing touches on my first-finished novel. This year, I had an idea and some material written, as well as a lot of completed research, so NaNoWriMo felt like a good opportunity to impose some discipline and finish this story, which I have worked on sporadically for many years.
What are you writing about this year?
My current project is completely different from my first novel. It’s a memoir in novel form, about my father-in-law’s experiences in the Soviet Red Army in the second world war, focusing on his escape from a POW camp.
What’s your favorite part of Nanowrimo and why?
My favorite part of NaNoWriMo is the imposition of a definite goal and deadline. I know I have to write 1600-1700 words a day. Not an insurmountable goal, but sticking to it every day is the challenge.
I also like the camaraderie of others who are doing the same thing.
Who’s the best character in your Nano?
The best character in my NaNo is definitely my MC, a man who managed to stay clear-headed and charmiing, even in the face of the worst horrors in history.
Sneaky Ninja Question! What would you spend one wish on?

One wish: to know everything I know now, 30 years ago, plus some winning lottery numbers.
Glad to be a part of NaNoWriMo this year!
One Response to Nano Spotlight: Scott’s Written Words

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    don’t forget the main rule of time travel!! No changing history. I could use some winning lottery numbers for sure.

    Lee
    Blogging from A to Z

    Like

Leave a Reply

