Six Sentence Sunday: A Keeper point from ‘Children’


Hello everybody, and welcome back to Six Sentence Sunday. Since my read-through this past week went well, I thought I’d share one of my favorite ‘keeper points’ from the first draft of “Won’t somebody think of the Children?”

“Melanie, you’re pregnant.”

“I’m what?” I felt my grip go a little faint and willed myself to hang onto her hand – it would not have gone well for either of us if I’d suddenly dropped her at that moment. “Odin, explain this!” Melanie yelled.

“No explanations should be required, Melanie,” Odin’s calm, nearly flat voice told her smoothly. “You received excellent grades in the relevant health and sexual education courses.”

10 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday: A Keeper point from ‘Children’

  1. Ha! I love Odin’s cool response to Melanie! Engaging six…I want to read more! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. I hope she gets used to that idea soon πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Ana Hart says:

    LOL. Okay, that last line serious made me giggle. Very nice job there. I have a fetish for authentic dialogue in stories and yours definitely makes the cut πŸ˜‰ I’m looking forward to reading more!

    Like

  4. Sarah W says:

    Interesting — I want to know who (or what) Odin is, and why Melanie is freaking out.

    These are probably not the starting sentences, but they make a nice hook anyway.

    Like

  5. Sue says:

    She should know what he means but gather more to it than that πŸ˜€

    Like

  6. Still chuckling over Odin’s matter-of-fact reply. Nice 6, Chris. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Siobhan Muir says:

    Wow, I didn’t know sex ed included pregnancy! Intriguing six, Chris. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Love Odin’s response. Nice six! πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Ruth Madison says:

    Hahaha, very unusual reaction from him.

    Like

Leave a Reply

