JanNoWriMo Day 12 update.


I’ve set myself a modest goal for new writing in January – 30 pages or ten thousand words of sample chapters for ‘The Scroll’, (formerly Magic Manuscript, and I’m glad that I got a better title!) I’m also hoping to get a short story or two written before the end of the month, but The Scroll is my official JanNoWriMo project.

So far, it’s going well. My word count is at 4429, and my page count getting on for 11, so I’m more or less where I want to be. And my characters are filling in fairly well, particularly Will, the main character, and Mandy, his girlfriend – also a few people who Will works with at the Royal Ontario Museum. I’m starting to realize that I need to introduce Emelia, the third main character, pretty soon – Emelia is established as a friend of Mandy, but there’s a lot more to her than that.

And Will is starting to get excited about learning what the scroll can teach him! (As am I.) I may need to crack down on the word count a little more after I’ve cleared out a few other projects.

How’s your January word count doing?

2 Responses to JanNoWriMo Day 12 update.

  1. Trisha says:

    Good job with your goal so far!

    For me, the goals I’ve sent myself so far are allowing me to move pretty slow and steady. But I’m doing a fair few different activities every week so am really mixing it up. Helps me to not get bored with any one thing I guess. 😉 I’m on track so far!

    Like

  2. Regina says:

    I am so proud of you for setting those goals for yourself. Every time I sit down to write, it seems like I lose my concentration so when I get ideas now, I just grab my voice recorder and spit out my ideas and that way I can go back and figure out if there is a way to develop those into stories.. I have such an idea overflow but an execution block when it comes time to hatch it all out. Best wishes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

