Taking a little programming break


Between trying to keep up with the Holly Lisle lessons, my JanNoWriMo writing, reading for critiquing, working the slushpile, and my other daily targets for the calendar, I’m starting to feel a little bit creatively exhausted. And I’ve got a good idea for something else that I can do this weekend to give myself a bit of a break and recharge my batteries.

It may sound a bit weird that I love to write my own programs in my spare time, even though programming is what I do for most of my day job. But being able to pick my own objectives and work with different software environments and device types makes a lot of the difference.

Here’s my list of programming goals that I want to start working on this weekend:

Dana-specific:

  • Manual for MultiCounter
  • (Any changes that seem necessary in order to write a sensible manual)
  • Manual for AlphaFiles
  • (Any changes that seem necessary in order to write a sensible manual)

Song rater:

  • Windows (sqlite) version: support for however many lists
  • Gambas (linux) version: support for however many lists
  • New pocketPC version: sqlite based with support for however many lists
  • New Iphone version: web sql with upload/download and support for however many lists.

Project tracker:

  • palm version: Add support for multiple projects. Add new management screen for customizable deletion and trimming.
  • Windows (sqlite) version: Add support for multiple projects.
  • Gambas (linux) version: Add support for multiple projects.
  • New pocketPC version: sqlite based with support for multiple projects, and a management screen for customizable deletion and trimming.
  • Iphone version: add support for multiple projects, and a management screen for customizable deletion and trimming.

Video tracker:

  • New program for replacing a text file on my tungsten W to keep track of which DVR programs I’m in the middle of watching, and how far I’ve gotten. Probably start with a palm version, but it might be interesting to try for pocketPC or Iphone

That should be enough to recharge my batteries for a while. 😉 Only where will I find the time to do all that coding?

 

2 Responses to Taking a little programming break

  1. Wow. That sounds like a lot of programming!

    Like

  2. Trisha says:

    It’s great to have a plan for how you want to spend your (spare) time (well, your work time too, of course :D). It means you’re more likely to actually get done what you want to get done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

