Insecure Writer’s Support Group – February


Well, it’s the first Wednesday of the month, and time to check in with the Insecure Writer’s Support Group and share some of our troubles and/or encouragement with fellow insecure writers.

I’ve already unloaded a bit about how hard I’m finding it to start writing new short stories. Partly that’s because I’ve learned so much lately about what a good short story needs to do – to show us the most important thing that happens in a character’s life, show them struggling against a great obstacle and taking charge of their own fate, and growing as a person.

And as I try to think of story ideas, there are the nattering ghosts of doubt that keep whispering in my ear, “That’s a cliche idea, everybody’s done it already.” “Nobody’s cared about that sort of science fiction story since you were four years old.” “That twist doesn’t add anything to the setup.” “What will you ever do for an ending?”

I’ve also been feeling insecure about just how much time I can, or should, throw into my writing, and how long I can keep it up. But I’ve also come to realize that these issues will sort themselves out. I’ll have made progress on the short story front by the end of February.

Whatever it is that we insecure writers have challenging us, we can make it. I know.

2 Responses to Insecure Writer’s Support Group – February

  1. Time seems to be that number one issue. But staying with it produces a book eventually. I chipped away and finally finished my second book.

    Like

  2. Good luck with your stories. And sometimes it is just best to write and see what happens. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

