I finally got my license!


My G2 road test was this morning – the fourth time I’ve taken the test in as many months, but this time I passed!

I’ve been working really hard on the driving practice stuff ever since the last test, in the first week of January – I figured that I knew what mistakes I was making, so I made an effort to drill on those things when I was out driving with my brother – left turns, stop signs, roadside stops, three-point turns, and parallel parking. I took an extra hour of paid instruction with my driving teacher from A-1 academy, and he said that he thought I was doing well and shouldn’t be nervous about taking the test again.

So, the test appointment was booked for 10:10 am this morning – I picked the day because this is the week before reading week at McMaster university, so I thought the streets would be a bit busier in the morning next week. Tried to get to bed early last night, had a bit of trouble nodding off, but I woke up at quarter to seven feeling pretty good. Hopped into the shower first thing, grabbed oatmeal and logged into the work network to finish some tweaks on the ratesheet interface while I waited for 9.

At nine, my brother came by to pick me up – we went by McDonalds to get him a coffee and a muffin. I drove around a bit, just trying to loosen up – I did a roadside stop along Kentley drive, where the examiner had me do it last time, and my brother said that I was closer to the curb than I needed to be, but I didn’t touch it, so I felt good about that.

Then to the testing center to sign in, and back out to the car to wait for the examiner. I’d brought a CD to play while I waited – it was a somewhat odd mix, and I ended up singing along to Little Big Town and Roger Whittaker. Noticed all the instructors that I’d had before go to other cars while I waited. (The guy that I had in November and January was really nice, the lady that tested me in December seemed grumpy and made me more nervous.)

When my tester came out, he seemed pretty cool too, and I felt myself driving in the zone as I started going through the test. It was the same route as I’d driven in January – but he didn’t tell me to do the roadside stop along Kentley, or anywhere else. I remember thinking as I turned off Kentley that “Okay, now I don’t know when it’s going to come”, and then figured out when he told me to turn up Kenora towards the test center that he might not have me do it at all. I was also thinking, then, that I wasn’t sure if I was passing, but I was driving well and giving it my best shot.

I didn’t have to do a proper roadside stop. I did the three-point turn and the parallel park in the test center parking lot, and he asked me, as I finished the parallel park, which way I should turn my wheels if I was parking uphill. That was it.

I have a few checkmarks for ‘Needs some improvement’ on my official evaluation paper – incorrect vehicle position in the 3-point turn, observation while backing up, and turning too wide. But I’ll have plenty of time to work on those before I take the next road test, for the full permanent G license.

Next step – car shopping! I’ll let you know how that goes soon.

7 Responses to I finally got my license!

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    Oh-oh–watch out world. Chris is coming. Will the roads ever be the same?

    Lee
    An A to Z Co-Host
    Tossing It Out
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

    Like

  2. Trisha says:

    Well done!!! I really think it’s important who you get as your tester – I had some real doozies, and I failed my test twice! The first one failed me for hesitating too long at an intersection – I wasn’t endangering anyone, just being overcautious. I think it’s rude that I failed for that! The second one I did heaps wrong ’cause I was way more nervous than the first time. Finally I got it in a small town in the middle of nowhere, where I just had to drive around a block and I was done. haha

    Like

    • avatar139 says:

      @Trisha – So true, but speaking from personal experience, the plus side of that can be if you take the test enough times with the same person (say about seven tries 😉 you can build up enough of a mutual loathing that the person will get so sick of dealing with you that they’ll go much easier on you.

      Such was the case with me and “Scary Larry” who prior to his recent retirement was infamous throughout the SFBay Area as the bogeyman that (again speaking from personal experience) driving instructors would invoke his name whenever they wanted to scare their students into paying attention!

      In fact he was so infamous that the announcement of his retirement was actually announced in several newspapers throughout the entire SFBay area! 😉

      @Chris – Congrats, I’ll have to let you ferry me around the next time you make it out here! 😉

      Like

  3. Catherine Johnson says:

    Congrats, Chris! You can’t be worse than me, I failed 7 times. Driven in lots of different countries sice then and only two crazy stories to tell lol.

    Like

  4. I was so excited to see your headline and of course read the whole tale. Just had to say congratulations!

    Like

  5. Anna Tan says:

    Oooh! Congrats!

    Like

Leave a Reply

