Always look for the signs


Well, I got pulled over by a cop car and given a warning for the first time yesterday. And I feel really foolish too, because I’d gotten onto the highway the same wrong and stupid way a few times, and the one time that I clued in that it wasn’t where I was supposed to go to get where I needed to go – somebody was there to catch me and tell me off for it.

If I’d been paying attention and trusted the big sign to actually mean what it said, instead of some vague memory from my brother driving me home a while ago, I’d never have even thought that was the way to go. And if I’d been perceptive enough to spot the sign specifically telling me that what I was trying to do was a no-no – well, you know.

That’s a good lesson to take into our creative journeys as well – of course, there’ll be a lot of people showing you signs saying ‘come over this way’ and ‘you can’t do that’ who really don’t know what they’re talking about, and when it comes to the writer’s journey, following every sign can leave you really really lost. But I don’t think being so focused on where we think is the right way to go that we can’t even see the signs around us is a good way to go either.

You’ve got to look first, and then make up your mind.

2 Responses to Always look for the signs

  1. avatar139 says:

    Don’t worry, Chris, it happens to the best of us at least once!

    The one thing I would add though is that it’s not what happens when you ignore the sign but rather what you do afterwards that counts, so just be sure to heed the warning and take comfort in the fact that no one was injured/killed (which, speaking as a former road injury victim, is always an important thing to be thankful for when road signs are ignored)! 😉

    Like

  2. Donna Hole says:

    Well, now you know not to go that way again. I get stuck in my own head too sometimes. With writing, there are critique partners to point out the signs; with driving, there are cops.

    Lesson learned 🙂

    ……….dhole

    Like

Leave a Reply

