Some favorite lines from ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’


This was the discussion question for the week on my Whedonverse mailing list, but I figured that good Buffy lines are good for sharing all over the ‘net!

Xander: Do you know what’s a good day to break up with somebody? Any day besides Valentine’s Day! I mean, what, were you running low on dramatic irony? (Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered.)

Willow: And I’m eating this banana. Lunchtime be damned! (Dopplegangland)

Giles: Now, if we can stay in focus, keep our heads, and if Willow can stop stepping on everyone’s cues, I know this’ll be the best production of “Death of a Salesman” we’ve ever done. (Primeval)

Buffy: I loved [Angel] so much. But I knew … what was right. I don’t have that any more. I don’t understand. I don’t know how to live in this world if these are the choices. If everything just gets stripped away. I don’t see the point. I just wish that… I just wish my mom was here. (The Gift)

Spike: Oh, listen to Mary Poppins. He’s got his crust all stiff and upper with that nancy-boy accent. You Englishmen are always so… Bloody hell! Sodding, blimey, shagging, knickers, bollocks, oh God! I’m English! (Tabula Rasa)

Xander: If you have to go to the bathroom, it’s to your left. If you don’t have to go to the bathroom, picture what you’re about to face. Better to go now. (Chosen)

Do you have a favorite line from the show?

3 Responses to Some favorite lines from ‘Buffy the Vampire Slayer’

  1. Trisha says:

    Oh god, I love this show so much. It’s been a while since I watched any of it though, so I’m rusty on fave quotes. Or any quotes at all. I do always remember the fear demon episode with “Who’s a tiny little fear demon?” etc. 😛

    Like

    • avatar139 says:

      I gotta go with my Dad’s favorite on the classic Willow line, “Kiss rocks, why would anyone want to – Oh.”

      Classic Buffy and Xander exchange, “Do I like shrubs?” “That’s between you and your God.” From the opening of What’s My Line, Part 1.

      Favorite Snyderism, “I’m no stranger to conspiracy. I saw JFK. I’m a truth seeker. I’ve got a missing gun and two confused
      kids on my hands. Pieces of the puzzle. And I’m gonna look at all the pieces carefully and rationally, and I’m gonna keep looking until I know exactly how this is all your fault.”

      Favorite adopt a-poignant-Giles line, “To forgive is an act of compassion, Buffy. It’s, it’s not done because people deserve it. It’s done because they need it.”

      Both from I Only Have Eyes for You.

      Favorite Ripper one liner, “He changed his mind.” From Tough Love.

      Favorite Spike lines (because, honestly, who can pick just one ;), It’s a big rock. I can’t wait to tell my friends. They don’t have a rock this big.” From Becoming Part 1 and “This is the crack team that foils my every plan? I am deeply shamed.” From something Blue.

      Favorite Ethanism, “Now, this may sting a little just at first. But don’t worry, that’ll go away once the searing pain kicks in.” From The Dark Age.

      Favorite Spike and Dru moment (yes, yes, I know it was really
      The First 😉 from Bring on the Night, “Never figured you for existential thought, luv. I mean, you hated Paris.”

      Like

  2. Never seen it! Not even a glimpse!

    Like

Leave a Reply

