Nanowrimo Spotlight #3: C.R. Trumbo


Okay, I’ve been spotlighting writers who are gearing up to participate in Nanowrimo all week, and today it’s time for CR Trumbo.

What’s the most unusual part of your writing process?
Uhm. That’s the tricky question for me, I think.

I, obviously, don’t find my writing process unusual. Though after reading blogs and whatnot describing other author’s writing process’s, I’d say my whole process is weird. First, I don’t normally sit at a desk. Right now we only have one and it has my boyfriend’s Desktop computer and is all cluttered. I sit on the couch with my laptop in my lap. Or I sit on the floor and lean against the couch. Or I recline in bed with it propped on my legs. Most times I find a desk too constraining.

Also, a small thing, most people, it seems don’t listen to music. I normally have music playing. Sometimes it’s J-Pop, sometimes it’s a playlist I have together specifically for the novel. Like my list I have for this November.

Where are your backup files?
I have them saved on my computer (obviously). I also have them on a Google Doc’s account, and I think I have a copy of most of my stuff on every one of my three or four USB drives. I have so many because I have a habit of losing them. Speaking of which, I should back up my stuff again.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Oh there’s so many. I dedicated an entire blog post to this. But just one thing?

It would have to be… Remove distractions.

Please, turn off the television, don’t answer the phone, seclude yourself in a dark corner away from the rest of the world. Your word count will thank you, I promise. But, well, one more. Take Breaks. Most people can’t work constantly for hours and hours on end (when they’re not getting paid to do so). Take breaks to do what you want to. Read a book, watch TV, go for a walk, talk to your friends/significant other/cat/self.

Sneaky Ninja Question! Do you smoke? Have you ever??
I’m eighteen (almost nineteen) and I never have, and probably never will. Fun fact, I LOVE the smell of cigarette smoke. But not stale. Ick, no. However, if I hadn’t started dating my current boyfriend, I probably would have at least tried it. I could see me doing that, but he abhors the smell, so I don’t.

I stay up way too late, sleep too long, love the supernatural, dislike the real world, write too little, play too many games, can’t keep a schedule. I have two cats, two rats, one dog, one boyfriend, too many books, too many works in progress. I like music, with the exception of rap or anything like it, my favorite to listen to while writing is Jpop. I am currently in LOVE (read: Obsessed) with Some Nights by FUN. Check out my blog Insane and Uncontrolled where I try to post daily about writing. Though sometimes I stray off track. I have a tendency to ramble, hope to see you there!

Thanks for dropping by, CR! Good luck in November.

Leave a Reply

