Nanowrimo Spotlight #11: Watch This Space


I’d like to thank everybody who signed up for spotlight interviews, and all of my followers who’ve been commenting on them. Today, the spotlight shows us Shannon.

What’s the most unusual part of your writing process?
I write really well under pressure. I can crank out three pages, double-spaced, in less than 20 minutes, and I’ve done that before a writers group meeting. I’ve also been known to turn out decent poetry while I’m sitting at that same meeting, even using part of the conversation around me. When I’m writing that fast, it’s usually because I’ve been thinking of some topic while on my way to somewhere else, and I try not to be a distracted driver. I leave the writing until I’m where I need to be.

Where are your backup files?
On my flash drive. And the other flash drive. And a strangely named file on my laptop. And in the box that looks like it is full of recycling but is actually 217 different drafts of the same 150 pages of completed text. I am planning a generous gift to the Sierra Club to atone for the trees I’ve killed in the last year.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Don’t wait until you feel like writing. Write anyway.

Sneaky Ninja Question! What’s your most annoying habit?
I repeat myself and don’t even know it until I’ve read the final draft at least eight times. How does that happen?

I lied to my third grade teacher and told her, “My brother died” and got instant sympathy from her and prayers from my classmates. When my parents confronted me five days later, I compounded the lie, claiming it was a story told by one of my fifty classmates. I live in Tacoma WA and just completed SAVE THE BONES, a book about my mother and Alzheimer’s to be published in December. I swap stories about writing with my brother who has not yet died. I blog about working as a prison and jail chaplain at www.findinggracewithin.blogspot.com

2 Responses to Nanowrimo Spotlight #11: Watch This Space

  1. rrhiannon99 says:

    Blog link does not work for me 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

