Nanowrimo Spotlight #15: Ayla Johnson; Synyster Lovely


Hey all! Not much time for chitchat as I have to leave soon to catch my flight for San Francisco. So, here’s Ayla, give her a nice big round of applause!

What’s the most unusual part of your writing process?
This is a bit difficult, what really is “normal” for a writer? I don’t prewrite, like ever. I constantly got points marked off in school for never doing any form of prewriting. The furthest I go with prewriting is creating a character. Even then, the character idea usually comes before the story idea. Really though, the most unusual part is my imagining. When I start writing, of course I get writer’s block. The easiest way for me to fix this is to plug in my headphones, blast some music and ride my bike. I usually end up riding for at least an hour. During these rides my mind wanders all over the place and I find myself imagining myself as my main character, almost to the point of losing myself in this imagining. As crazy as it sounds I usually come up with my best ideas in these journeys into my mind.

Where are your backup files?
Backup files? What are backup files? Haha but really I don’t have backup files. Pretty much if my computer crashes I’ve lost my work and I have no way of getting it back. Unless I was smart for once and did it on an online word processor such as Google Docs. There really aren’t many unfinished pieces just lying around. I tend to finish just about anything. Most of it is hand written in notebooks that litter my room. Anything else is uploaded either to DeviantArt or Sta.sh which is a part of DeviantArt. Ironically, I have two external hard drives and countless flash drives but I never use them. I’m a bit of a idiot that way.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
I would say do what feels right to you. Some people will tell you to plan, plan, plan. Others will say to just pants it the entire way through. Just do what you feel is right to do. Don’t let anyone influence you. If they’re new like me, I highly suggest connecting with the people in their region. I have gotten a lot of support and help from the people in my region. They are all so nice and so much fun, and since it’s a writing event, there are quite a few people like me. It’s a lot easier knowing I am not in this alone. That and just get as much support as you can. I have a whole support team and it’s really motivating me to dive in head first.

Sneaky Ninja Question! What is your biggest fear when it comes to writing?
Deep question. Thinking just as deep I guess my deepest fear would be losing interest in a piece I know is good, or finishing a piece and despising it in the end. The only thing I fear more is that no one will like my work. Most of it is for me yes, but I like knowing what others think about it as well. It’s my self consciousness manifesting itself in the form of fear.

Ayla Johnson is a writer of many names. You can find her work, of all sorts, under her many pseudonyms; The Unavenged, Victoria Vengeful, and Synyster Lovely. She writes a variety of things as well as does a wide variety of other forms of art. She lives in Tucson, Arizona and is a college student studying in Administration of Justice and Chemistry. You can find her and her work lurking at http://the-unavenged.deviantart.com or her blogging about writing and NaNoWriMo at http://maniacalrantingsofanavidreader.wordpress.com/ or even follow her in real time at https://twitter.com/SynysterLovely

2 Responses to Nanowrimo Spotlight #15: Ayla Johnson; Synyster Lovely

  1. rrhiannon99 says:

    Howdy! I was wondering what made you choose to have multiple pseudonyms?

    Like

    • Hahah your lucky I decided to lurk and check out my post on his page. When I was a Junior in high school, we did a whole unit on artists that used pseudonyms, mainly street artists and musicians. I love and adore street art and I am totally addicted to music. I liked the mysterious factor in it. How you would never really know who the artist was, that they were hidden. To me it always added some sort of beauty and interest to the piece. Actually almost all of my pseudonyms are inspired by my favorite band and would be my “stage name” if I actually had some musical talent haha.

      Like

Leave a Reply

