Nanowrimo Spotlight #17: Trisha (Word+Stuff)


Hey everybody! First, some great news, I’m a Nanowrimo winner once again. (Does a little dance of joy.) I was the first person to ring the bell this year at the Night of Writing Dangerously fund-raiser in San Francisco, whoo-hoo! (No free T-shirts this year for bell ringers, but I guess they need to cut back on expenses. And I’ve gotten enough free Nanowrimo T-shirts!)

And it gives me great pleasure to shine the spotlight today on a dear Blogosphere friend, Trisha.

What’s the most unusual part of your writing process?
Umm, I can’t really think of something completely unusual, since I have found that writers always seem to have their own particular habits, so none of us are that unusual. I guess it could be considered unusual to always be changing your process, as I am? And to have a different process for each new project that I start? I also go through heaps of drafts by myself before showing my work to any beta readers. And yet this could be the same for other writers too, for all I know. πŸ˜‰

Where are your backup files?
I rely quite heavily on Google Drive at the moment, and the only copies of my work I have (the work I’m doing right now that is) are at home and on Drive. I try to have most recent versions of all my novels on Drive. There is also a copy of my current work on my work computer but that is less frequently updated.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
The advice I’ve always given when it comes to NaNo is to ‘write now, edit later’. Basically don’t worry if it’s crap right now, ’cause the aim of NaNo is to write fast. You can fix it if it’s messy at a later date. I know that advice is not unique to me, but it’s something that always works for me. But I know some people are more perfectionist than that, even when writing a rough draft. I only indulge my perfectionist side on much later drafts.

Sneaky Ninja Question!Β What do you have in your pockets right now?
I’m sorry but I’m in my PJs – a new blue top and pair of white pants with red polka dots that I recently bought – and these pants have no pockets! Generally if I ever do have anything in my pockets, it will be a) a hair elastic or b) my iPod Touch.

Trisha is a Western Australian writer, singer-songwriter, fine artist and traveller who blabbers about all of the above, in no particular order, on her blog.

3 Responses to Nanowrimo Spotlight #17: Trisha (Word+Stuff)

  1. Trisha says:

    Yay, thanks for interviewing me!! Such fun! πŸ™‚ and congrats on your NaNo win! I won too πŸ˜€ It’s a great feeling. But I’m still slogging away trying to finish the story. πŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Chris, congrats on your NaNoWriMo success. I hit 54K on Sunday and 58K today. Haven’t uploaded my file to Nano yet for verification, since I’m still working on the book. I think it’s going to be around 75K total.

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    Congratulation on your win, Chris!

    Like

Leave a Reply

