Nanowrimo Spotlight #20: Nano Finish Line


Hey everybody. We’re well and truly into the last week of November, with the weekend behind us, so it only seems right to give you a good look at the Nano Finish Line… blog, and its author Jenny. 🙂

What’s the most unusual part of your writing process?
I am a planner. Give me a date and time to be somewhere and I’ll do my best to be there. I will work my day around it, if I have to. You would think that this would mean when it comes to writing, I would also be a planner. But, I’m not.

I’m a combination of both a planner and a pantser. I have the general story arc in mind most of the time. I usually have a detailed beginning planned out and an ending before I start. But the middle is usually made up as I go along.

I’ve tried writing outlines for my story. I usually don’t finish them. I get the bare bones of the plot in place before I begin. Then I write, referring to my outline when I get stuck. When the outline runs out, I’m stuck with making it up as I go along. I usually plan a scene or two ahead of what’s on my current page, but I’ve run into my share of problems. Hmm. The kingdom is surrounded and outnumbered. How are they going to win the war? I solve most of my plot problems, but normally not until I have to.

My local NaNo friends would probably site my weird hand motions while I’m figuring out the next few words as their answer to this question.

Where are your backup files?
I bought a cute little flash drive that lives in my purse. The backup to my current NaNo story is there. Hmm. I need to back up my story again. Thanks for the reminder!

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
You CAN do this! You may not think you can write a book, but you can. The same person who came up with your story idea, followed your characters, and wrote them into their current mess is the same one who can get them out of it. Trust yourself. Believe that you CAN do it. That’s basically what NaNoWriMo is all about — empowering other writers to create a story they might have otherwise left unwritten.

Sneaky Ninja Question! Do you tend to remember any of your dreams?
Yes! Some of them have wound up as chapters in my stories. In fact, my 2011 NaNo story was birthed by a dream. I followed a girl who was being tortured while her family watched from a distance. I knew the girl had a choice to leave the pain behind and rejoin her family, but she didn’t. From that weird dream, The Test of True Love was birthed.

This year, I started the NaNo Finish Line blog to help as many people cross the 50k mark this month. I’ve included daily posts encouraging those who are struggling in the common woes of NaNoland to keep on going no matter what. I’ve gotten a lot of positive feedback, and my local NaNo group loves it. I plan to update the blog regularly after November with general writing tips. Check it out!

One Response to Nanowrimo Spotlight #20: Nano Finish Line

  1. Trisha says:

    Your blog sounds cool! I’ll check it out 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

