Camp Nano Spotlight: Angel’s Reflections


Good morning, and welcome to everybody who’s following the A to Z challenge! My theme for the challenge this year is interviewing writers who are participating in the Office of Letters and Light’s Camp Nanowrimo challenge, which is also taking place in April this year. My first interview is spotlighting ErinKenobi2893, and Erin’s novel, Angel’s Reflections.

How did you find out about Camp Nanowrimo?
I found out about Camp Nano from my best friend, who did last November’s nano and wanted to get me on. (Her username, incidentally, is Irisbloom5.)

Have you participated in Camp Nano before?
I have never participated in any National Novel Writing Month events of any kind before, but I’m really looking forward to this, and I believe I will view it as a success, even if I don’t make my goal.

Do you know what you’re going to write this year?
I’m planning on writing a fantasy/adventure novel, with elements of science ErinKenobi_avatarfiction and dystopia, but the main focus is on the action, so I’m calling it fantasy/adventure.

What’s your favorite part of your Camp project?
I think my favorite part of my project is the main character. I’ve never done a story with a main character who started out as basically a coward/wimp, so I’m going to have fun with this. (Hint: Her redeeming feature is her love for her little sister.)

What superpower would you want to have?
If I were a superhero, I think I would want to be able to fly more than anything else. 😛

I’ve been writing for several years now, ever since I was nine and began an overambitious project, basically a compendium of all the Robin Hood legends I could find; it lacked strong dramatization, but at least I learned to do good dialogue from it. When I was eleven, I got hooked on Star Wars and began a novel about what happened after the Return of the Jedi. It ran for more than 425 handwritten pages, but it didn’t have a good, solid arc, had too many characters who didn’t have any reason to be there, etc.

Finally I began freewriting on various fantasy projects, most of which fell into a continuous timeline, and a science-fiction novel (after I discovered that I could really write sci-fi, as long as I stayed away from too much techno-craziness,) which followed it up. My most recent project does not really fall into any of these conventions I formed for myself; it’s very unique. Whereas most of my fantasy so far has been strictly regulated to avoid most mythological creatures, here I am just going to have a party with as many dragons, unicorns, Pegasuses, skin-changers, elves, and will o’ the wisps as my imagination can invent.

Thanks for dropping by Erin, and I hope you have a lot of fun at Camp!

4 Responses to Camp Nano Spotlight: Angel’s Reflections

  1. shell flower says:

    Cool idea to interview folks for A-Z. Great interview. Angel, you are quite ambitious! Write on 😉

    Like

  2. Pete Denton says:

    Good idea for the challenge. Good luck with the rest of the alphabet 🙂

    Like

  3. Interesting approach to the Challenge. Sounds like April will be busy for you. Good luck 🙂

    Like

  4. I don’t know how you’re going to do this. You must be super organized! I enjoyed the post. Blog hopping on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

