Camp Nano Spotlight: DragonGate


Hey there! I’m busy making plans for my trip into Toronto to see Jim Butcher, so today’s A-Z challenge entry is coming in a little late. My Nanowrimo Camper comes from Dragongate, also known as Mary. It’s nice to have you on the blog, Mary.

How did you find out about Camp Nanowrimo?
Through OLL’s publicity of it back in 2011 when it started.

Have you participated in Camp Nano before? If so, would you call it a success?
I’ve done camp in 2011 and 2012, both sessions both times. August is apparently a bad month for me, I’ve lost both times there but the winners from July 2011 and June 2012 are published on my FictionPress page, and the 2011 novel got several good reviews.

Do you know what you’re going to write this year? 
I have a definite plan for this year, the pilot episode and a random one have been written and I have two planned for Camp. One is the second episode, where the circus hires a liberty horse act, and the other involves the owner of the Carnival trying to retrieve his long-lost toe from another carnival’s freakshow, and in the process we’ll be exploring von Staunen’s WW2 history.

What’s your favorite part of your Camp project? 
Probably the father/daugher, mentor/student, little bit of a teenage crush on her part between von Staunen and Kelly.

Sneaky Ninja question! What’s your favorite midnight snack?
Probably cereal, or Jimmy Dean’s sausage bowls, chocolate if I have it and have been eating a lot of Terry’s chocolate oranges lately. They came back around for Easter, and I’ve been waiting a while here to see them again. Thought they were a Christmas thing.

Reduced size

I would say the most interesting thing on me is that I’ve been in the US Army for six years and have done all my OLL events while in. My first year in 2007 was in Korea and a complete bust. That story ain’t seeing the light of day ever. 2008 I was in New Mexico and that was my first win, lot of free time with a new unit. 2009 was one of my proudest years, since the Army decided I needed to spend the month of November at Fort Irwin, CA, training at the National Training Center for deployment. I wrote less than one day’s count one night on shift, and wrote the rest of the novel in the last week of November. Thank God for Thanksgiving and recovery time freedom.

2010 I was deployed to Afghanistan for a year, but managed to win. 2011 and 2012 I’ve been here in Italy and won both those years. And I also won my first Screnzy in 2011, while I was deployed and about to come back. Then won in 2012 here in Italy. The only thing I’ll plug is http://www.fictionpress.com/u/844277/DragonGate4, my FictionPress page.

3 Responses to Camp Nano Spotlight: DragonGate

  1. Katie says:

    Hi Mary! Good luck this month. And thank you for your service. Here I was thinking I had difficulty finding time to write!

    Like

  2. pvariel says:

    Hi Mary,
    Thank you so much for dropping in at my blog page even in spite of your busy schedule, The Camp Nano is really a new thing to me, Keep inform, keep writing about your adventures,
    Best Regards.
    PS; Here the Followers button showing at the top is without any pics! How come this, OMG! This is WordPress right I got it, I am joining in to read more.

    Best
    Phil

    Like

Leave a Reply

