Camp Nano Spotlight: Enemies Within


Good morning friends, followers, and A-Z challengers. Today I leave for the Ad Astra convention, but I should have tomorrows A-Z Camp Nanowrimo interview scheduled before I go, and I’ve got a new Weekend Writing Warriors installment already queued for Sunday morning.

Today, my spotlight is on Ben, who goes by DarkWarden on the Camp Nano site. Take it away Ben!

How did you find out about Camp Nanowrimo?
I participated in Nanowrimo for the first time last year, I had seen some posts about Camp and was curious as to what it was, so I looked at it a bit then and thought that it was pretty cool, but promptly forgot about it. I got an email from the Nanowrimo site in early march about Camp Nanowrimo, and decided to give it a shot. I had been trying to write a story, using some of my November Nanowrimo as a basis, but it just wasn’t working out. I decided to scrap what I had and do a totally different idea that I had in mind, and set to write it in April.

Have you participated in Camp Nano before?
Nope

Do you know what you’re going to write this year?
Yes I do.

What’s your favorite part of your Camp project?
My favorite part of my Camp project is the fact that it is an allegorical story; the focus of it being that my main character, Ashe Lorelei, is one of the few men who can stop a plot to release an ancient evil; but there is one simple problem, he’s been dead for a few hundred years. A priestess uses a ritual that can bring the dead to life, but in order for Ashe to return, he must undergo a trial, one that has him pitted against various dark natures within him, each of them based on one of the Seven Deadly Sins. The story is an allegory towards overcoming your inner demons and inner sins that may or may not have been entirely hidden from others.  There will be Christian undertones to the novel, as they will be what provides the moral lessons within each section. It’ll be a beast to write, but I’m looking forward to seeing how it turns out.

Sneaky Ninja question! How much schooling have you gone through?
Currently have all of high school with nearly two years of schooling done at Purdue University.

200 words of randomness:
Well a little about myself, I’m a sophomore at Purdue University, studying Computer and Information Technology. I’ve always been a fan of writing, but never was able to really get any serious writing done until last November when I did Nanowrimo for the first time. I don’t have a lot of time to actually write sometimes, so finding time during my crazy and hectic schedule has been a challenge, but I was able to do it last November, so I’m certain I’ll be able to do it this April.

llama-obey

A goal of mine that I’ve made is to have a moral and deeper meaning to each of my stories, because, as a Christian, I’ve found that it’s actually a lot easier to come up with ideas for meaningful stories when you’re actually writing based on some sort of substance. I want my reader to come out of my novels and writings having learned something that will help them in life. It makes writing the novels a bit harder, but in the end I get something that I am far more pleased with than I would be otherwise.

2 Responses to Camp Nano Spotlight: Enemies Within

  1. Good luck with your Camp NaNo story. 🙂

    Like

  2. Karen Tamara says:

    I wish you the best of luck. I love the premise of overcoming the seven deadly sins. Sounds very interesting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

