Camp Nano Spotlight: H for Kyra Halland


Good afternoon, friends and followers. Neither rain, snow, sleet, or gloom of night will stop the A to Z challenge or my spotlight interviews featuring Camp Nanowrimo authors. Today it’s Kyra’s turn.

How did you find out about Camp Nanowrimo?
I’ve been doing NaNoWriMo for several years, so I noticed on the site a few years ago when they started talking about doing an off-season event.

Have you participated in Camp Nano before? If so, would you call it a success?
I participated in 2011, as a revision rebel, and also worked on completing a novel I’d already started. Although I wasn’t doing it strictly by the book, it was fun to have the community and extra motivation to keep me going through those projects. So yes, I’d call it a success.

Do you know what you’re going to write this year?
I am going to write Book 3 of my fantasy-western-romance series, Daughter of the Wildings.

What’s your favorite part of your Camp project?
I’m enjoying the juxtaposition of fantasy and western elements – wizards and gunslingers. I also love my main characters, Silas and Lainie, and their developing relationship through trials and tribulations. Silas, the wizard bounty hunter, is especially fun to write.

Sneaky Ninja question! Are you more comfortable in a large group or talking with just one other person?
urdaisunia-kelworth-thumbOne other person, definitely. I’m very much an introvert.

My novels can be described as dark-edged, darkly emotional romantic fantasy for grownups, featuring complicated heroes, strong, smart, and sweet heroines, settings that aren’t the typical fantasy worlds, magic, romance, excursions into the dark corners of life and human nature, and a dash of offbeat humor. My first released novel, Urdaisunia, is now available through various online bookstores, and you can learn more about it and my upcoming books at my site, www.kyrahalland.com.

2 Responses to Camp Nano Spotlight: H for Kyra Halland

  1. […] of news: I’ve been interviewed by a Camp NaNo acquaintance, Chris K, on his blog for his A-Z Camp NaNo Spotlight challenge! Go check it out, and meet some other Camp NaNo-ers […]

    Like

  2. kyrahalland says:

    Thanks for posting this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

