Camp Nano Spotlight: Linda Thorlakson


Good morning, friends and followers, and welcome back to my A-Z series on Camp Nanowrimo writers for April. I met Linda over on the Nanowrimo Facebook group, where she’s been very active and friendly in the days leading up to camp, helping out the newbies and posting plenty of icebreakers to get people talking. And she was happy to help me out when I didn’t have anybody else to feature for the letter L.

How did you find out about Camp Nanowrimo?
I found out about Camp Nanowrimo from fellow-blogger, Rebekah Honeycutt.  I met Rebekah in November of last year through a Facebook NaNoWriMo support group set up by fellow-bloggers Cristian Miahi and Martina Scholtzova.

Have you participated in Camp Nano before?
No.  I participated in November’s NaNoWriMo this past November for the first time, but never participated in any of the camps offered during months other than November.

Do you know what you’re going to write this year?
Yes.  I’m going to rewrite the first nine chapters of my non-fiction book so that they better reflect my authentic voice (a voice I only discovered through November’s NaNoWriMo when there wasn’t enough time to attempt to be anybody other than myself).  I’m also hoping to add more than a dozen new chapters.  Obviously, with non-fiction that includes rewriting, I’m a NaNoWriMo Rebel.

What’s your favorite part of your Camp project?
My favorite part of camp is that rebellion (deviation from the guidelines) is not only allowed, but ENCOURAGED.  I’m even including the title page in my word count.  My favorite part of my project is that I don’t have time to reflect upon the best way to go about this or that.  I’m giving myself free rein to be as silly, serious, creative, or inappropriate as my instincts encourage me to be.

Sneaky Ninja question! What is your favorite movie – you have to pick just one!
“Little Miss Sunshine.”  I’m a sucker for characters who win my heart BECAUSE of (rather than despite) their significant imperfections.  I’m also a sucker for movies that bring me to the brink of tears only to do an abrupt about face and make me laugh (and vice versa).

The The Grim Reaperonly reason I started my blog, Thoughts and fears about dying (and living!), was to promote my book-in-progress which is an exploration of thoughts and fears about death.   Instead, due to the instant gratification offered through blogging, my book about death almost died of neglect.  Although my blog continues to explore thoughts and fears about dying (and living!), it’s also become a place where I receive instant gratification through promoting fellow bloggers, promoting newly published authors, and promoting other creative spirits in the worlds of art, music, and literature.

Due to Camp NaNoWriMo, I’ll be neglecting my blog to a certain extent during the month of April.  I do, however, plan to continue with a newly launched series of interviews with literary devices.  These interviews are intended to benefit me as much as they’re intended to benefit anybody like me who’s clueless about what various literary devices do and how they might best be employed to improve our writing.  Allegory was my first interviewee and Alliteration will be my second.  Camp NaNoWriMo might be the perfect time and place to experiment with literary devices.  Without time for censorship and self-criticism, creativity’s greatest enemies will be forced into submission.  Anything goes!!!

3 Responses to Camp Nano Spotlight: Linda Thorlakson

  1. Linda Thorlakson says:

    Reblogged this on lindathorlakson and commented:
    I’m SO excited. Instead of being the interviewER, I get to be the interviewEE for a change (thanks Chris!)

    Like

  2. Joe Owens says:

    I am glad to get to know more people and posts like this gets us to acknowledge some of our blogging brethren.

    Like

  3. […] Thanks for asking because, as it happens, I HAVE been nominated (and HELL YES I’m gonna accept). I’m deeply honored to have been nominated by Chris Kelworth whose posts in The Kelworth Files cover subjects ranging from frustrations encountered annotating Kindle text (The mysteries of Kindle debug mode) to his A-Z Challenge spotlighting 26 Camp NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) participants through interviews.  I was lucky enough to be the “L” interviewee. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

