Camp Nano Spotlight: Off the Beaten Plan


First off, I want to share something else I’m really excited about that starts with an O: Odyssey! I still haven’t heard anything definitive about my application to the Odyssey writing workshop, but it sounds like the decisions will probably be made by the end of the week, and I’ve gotten a hopeful sign. It’d be so great to spend six weeks down in New Hampshire, writing and learning like a crazy fool.
Update! I got in! Got the email confirmation this afternoon.

Moving on… I’ve known this next camper since before she started her blog, because she was one of my table-mates at that pilgrimage to the center of all that is holy about National Novel Writing Month: The Night of Writing Dangerously fundraising write-in and dinner in San Francisco. So, it’s my pleasure to spotlight a fellow A-Z challenger, Nicki

How did you find out about Camp NaNoWriMo?
I am the Municipal Liason (Volunteer Cat Herder) for the USA :: PA :: Lehigh Valley region of National Novel Writing Month, so I heard via one of those super-secret, pre-release emails where us ML’s get info early so we can get super excited and figure out how to make participants super excited, too. I even went and bought the Camp NaNoWriMo Kit (one for me, and one for my Dad) the moment they were on sale. I was so excited.

Have you participated in Camp Nano before? If so, would you call it a success?
I have tried, and it was never a success. In 2011 it took place in July, I believe (correct me if I’m wrong!), and while I started off at midnight of July 1st, I started with bright blue acrylic nails that were impossible to type with. I don’t know how women do it – I just can’t. It’s awkward enough when my real nails get long, but when there’s this projection that forces me to completely change my finger position on the keyboard, it was like constantly listening to an orchestra of fingernails on a chalkboard. Really bad. I failed, and then was demotivated enough for the 2nd session to just not even try. 2012 was a year filled with other personal writing, and Camp got skipped entirely. This year is going to be different.

Do you know what you’re going to write this year?
Oh, yes. Because I’m also doing the A to Z Blogging Challenge, I really have to plan this novel out. I’ll have four less days than everyone else to write because I’m blogging my novel to comply with the A to Z Challenge, plus I have to have the entry have something to do with the prescribed letter of the alphabet.

So my story idea came to me while watching a “Say Yes to the Dress” marathon on NetFlix. I loved the two ideas of a woman buying her wedding dress before she was engaged, and have that relationship end poorly, and the idea of having a woman get stuck in a wedding dress for a day. So my novel, tentatively titled “The Cyan Dress”, is what happens when a woman who has purchased her wedding gown before her engagement is forced to spend a day in that gown after getting dumped by her boyfriend the day before.

What’s your favorite part of your Camp project?
I think my least-favorite part is easier – planning. But maybe my favorite part is going to be putting my character into absolutely horrible, awkward situations. For example, she’ll start out the novel being the 2nd bride at a wedding. And pan-handling in a wedding gown? Well, she’ll give it a shot, anyway. And so will I.

Sneaky Ninja question! What is your favorite color?

keyboard

Pink. Pinkilicious, Pinkie-pie, Pink-o-rama. Cotton candy pink, 80’s neon pink, baby pink, especially Amaranth (which I did not know was a color name, or a plant, but it is actually the perfect shade of pink). I have an assortment of pink supplies always – pens (pink barrels and pink ink), sticky-notes, notebooks, file folders, and other assorted office supplies (staples). 

Creativity spawns more creativity – isn’t that interesting? I find that production also begets more production, whether it’s words on the page or projects completed in the workplace. The more you do, the more you can do. So when you are noticing your word count is depressed, or that you don’t have the energy to get done what needs to get done, find a way to increase things however you can. 200 words for a blog post here, taking the trash out and cleaning the sink there, and it all adds up. Weird, huh?

Check out my blog at Off the Beaten Plan. I have Facebooks and Twitters aplenty, but they’re all just re-posting everyone else’s stuff, so why not just cut to the good stuff? Thanks, Chris, for the opportunity to be interviewed! This was fun!!

You’re welcome, and thanks for volunteering!

One Response to Camp Nano Spotlight: Off the Beaten Plan

  1. Oh how cool! Some one else is blogging a story for the Camp NaNoWriMo/ A-Z challenge Combo. I’ll have to go over and take a peak. I’m doing the same except for mine is a mystery.

    History Sleuth’s Writings A-Z Challenge

    Like

Leave a Reply

