Camp Nano Spotlight: Queer Novel


Good morning, and welcome back to the A to Z blogging challenge. Today we’re up to Q, which is often a tricky letter to find something for, and UnicornEmma, aka “The Write ES Jones” suggested that her Camp Nano project could do Q for its Queer theme. So take it away Emma!

How did you find out about Camp Nanowrimo?
I participated in NaNoWriMo back in November, 2011, and shortly there after, I was really missing the excitement and intensity.  My word count was missing it, too.  So I checked NaNo’s site and discovered I didn’t have to wait for November to come back around–Camp to the rescue.

Have you participated in Camp Nano before? If so, would you call it a success?
I participated last year, but I only got to about 20k and half-way through the story itself, so…no, not a success.  What I did get written is awesome, though, and someday I hope to return to it and make it a success.

Do you know what you’re going to write this year?
Yes–I’m being a rebel and writing something that I’ve been working on for a few months.  It’s a spin-off to my 2011 NaNovel.  It has a cast of nine main characters, and I only know the arcs for two of them, so hopefully I’ll have plenty of no-plot freewriting time as well as planned plot points for when I get stuck.

What’s your favorite part of your Camp project?
I’ve UnicornEmmawanted to write a story like this for a long time.  It’s about friends, roommates, partners, and the dynamics in a group of people with varied (often non-normative) relationships.  It’s kind of like Friends, but a little bigger and much queerer, with two gay guys, three bisexuals, two aces, three trans* characters, etc.  I’m really looking forward to it.

Sneaky Ninja question!What was your favorite thing to do when you were a kid?
I feel like saying “reading” is a cliche–a writer who has always loved to read, ha.  But that’s my answer.  I loved Animorphs and the Hardy Boys books.  I also was big on playing solitaire on my dad’s computer, back in the day when solitaire was pretty much the absolute best thing to do on a computer.

Thanks for the chance to participate!

You can get more from UnicornEmma at The Write ES Jones Blog.

One Response to Camp Nano Spotlight: Queer Novel

  1. […] going to start this entry with a plug for The Kelworth Files, a fun blog about writing and NaNoWriMo. I was featured as part of the blog’s A-Z NaNo […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

