Camp Nano Spotlight: Roruna


Good morning, everybody! The A-Z challenge just keep right on going; we’re already at R, so today I’ve got an interview from Tanya, who goes by Roruna over on the Camp Nanowrimo site. Let’s get right to Tanya’s spotlight!

How did you find out about Camp Nanowrimo?
Through the NaNoWriMo site. I’ve been participating in NaNoWriMo for the last three years so I think I heard about Camp NaNo as soon as everyone else.

Have you participated in Camp Nano before? If so, would you call it a success?
Yes, I participated last June and August and I’ll be honest, neither was a roaring success. I was just shy of reaching 7k words in June 2012 and got 35k words in August 2012. I’ve noticed that the hot months are not very conducive to writing. I did eventually finish my June novel but I’m going to try to finish my August novel this time around.

Do you know what you’re going to write this year?
Well, this month I’m pretty certain that I’ll be having a rematch with my August 2012 novel. At least, that’s the plan this week. Things might change next week. Lately my story ideas have been quite fluid. Anyway, this story was inspired by the song Skullcrusher Mountain by Jonathan Coulton. It’s a romance in a superhero setting. I haven’t quite hammered out the details beyond that my protagonist is a super-villain and the heroine is a normal civilian.

What’s your favorite part of your Camp project?
I woman_with_stylusthink the prep is my favorite part. I love to outline and write character sheets and just daydream about where I might want the story to go before I actually sit down and start typing. The world just seems so full of possibilities are this point. Anything goes! I can just sit back and let the characters talk to me and each other without any restraint and if I want to change something, I just do.

Sneaky Ninja question! What would you do all night if you couldn’t get to sleep?
In the real world, I’d probably stress about not getting to sleep and get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, have a glass of warm milk or some water then come back to bed and toss and turn and wonder how much time I’d actually get of sleep if I fell asleep right now… now… Now! Now. Ok, now. (I’ve had issues with insomnia in the past.)
But a more fun answer would be that when I can’t get to sleep, I also just close my eyes and let my story ideas play themselves out in my mind.

The one other thing I would like to talk about is how important I think it is for everyone who participates in Camp NaNo or NaNoWriMo to use goodsearch.com. Since I started using it as my regular search engine last year, I’ve raised $28 for the Office of Letters and Lights without doing anything different. It shouldn’t be just a nice alternative for people who can’t donate directly. If everyone who does NaNoWriMo used goodsearch.com as their search engine, we could raise all the funds needed to keep NaNoWriMo and Camp NaNo going in no time. Seriously folks, NaNoWriMo does so much for everyone who participates, this really is the least we can do. The only thing it costs is a few minutes to create an account and set goodsearch.com as your homepage.

Thanks for dropping by Tanya!

2 Responses to Camp Nano Spotlight: Roruna

  1. Debra says:

    Great series, Chris. It was nice to meet you Tanya. Good luck in August!

    Like

  2. Interesting interview. I’ve never participated in nanowriting marathons. Maybe someday, but at present, I’m not planning to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

