May the Fourth be With uth All


Happy Star Wars day everybody! (And yeah, I know that’s not an original joke in the title, but I couldn’t resist. πŸ™‚ )

I’m not a huge Star Wars fan, but the original trilogy was part of my childhood. I wasn’t anywhere near old enough to see the first movie in the theater when it first came out, but I got to see it pretty soon, probably on a VCR, specially rented for somebody’s sleep-over birthday party. A boy on a moisture farm buying some droids, Luke flying through a trench in the Death Star, going to a swamp planet to find a legendary Jedi master, Han and Leia recruiting the Ewoks to help them shut down a force field, I loved it all. Surprisingly, there were a few blank spots in my memory at the beginning of “Empire Strikes Back” until recently.

I remember reading some of the Star Wars paperback novels when I was in middle school, particularly the Jedi Academy trilogy with Luke recruiting his own Jedi students. They weren’t my favorite books ever, but I did enjoy reading them.

I’ve got a different perspective on ‘the prequel trilogy’ from most people. I haven’t watched any of those movies straight through, though I’ve seen bits of all three… particularly the end of Attack of the Clones. πŸ˜‰ But before I’d seen any of them, really, I read the novelizations through Audible.com, and from what I’ve heard I think that the story-telling actually hangs together better that way than in the movies. Which doesn’t say that much for George Lucas, actually, that other writers could clean up his mess and make it more coherent even when they didn’t have the visual medium to work with.

I’m grateful that Star Wars inspired me enough to serve as the primary fandom of my main characters when I wrote my fandom romantic comedy screenplay, ‘Geek at Heart.’ And I’m curious about what the new Disney movies will be like.

One Response to May the Fourth be With uth All

  1. Trisha says:

    I’m with you – I’m not a crazed fan but I grew up with the original trilogy. We also got the Millennium Falcon toy from a swap meet and lots of little figurines. That is worth a fair bit of $$ now, so I’m a bit sad we got rid of it all πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

