Nano Spotlight: No Page Left Blank


Hey! So, I’m very excited to kick off my 2013 Nano spotlight interview series with Toreshi.

Toreshi’s experience with NaNo so far, in her own words:
I participated in my first NaNo in 2008, and have participated every year since. I can’t recall the exact details of how I came across it, but I believe it was mentioned on a blog that I’d been reading and I clicked on the link out of curiosity. It was just a few days before November, and after browsing around the website for a little while I decided that I absolutely had to try this out. I barely squeaked past 50,000 words that year, and it was thrilling. I loved the challenge, the community, and all the fun nonsense that came with it.

One of my favorite memories of NaNo’s past was the first time I took place in the “word sprints”. I’m trying desperately to remember the method we used to speak to each other…Twitter wasn’t around yet, and I’m thinking it may have been a special chat room or something, I’m not quite sure. Either way, it was a live feed where one of the NaNo crew members would come on and tell us when to “sprint”, and after the time limit we’d all say how many words we managed to write, what we’d been writing about, what silly typos we’d made in the process, and so on. It really made me feel like I was part of a community, even though I live in an area where meet-ups and the like don’t really happen, and the “sprints” were a major player in my making it to the finish line that year. 🙂

What are you writing about this year?
I’m not 100% certain, but I’m pretty sure that I’m going with a vampire-based horror. I want to try to send vampires back into the dark where they belong, where they’re horrifying, blood-sucking monsters, not prissy “vegetarians” who fall in love with pretty girls. In fact, the story is going to follow a young woman who is obsessed with vampires because of 21st century vampire pop culture, and in her desperation to meet and fall in love with a real vampire, she gets more than she bargained for.

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
He doesn’t have a name yet, but I think the supporting good-guy character will be my favorite. He’s going to be the character who rescues the main character from her own stupidity, takes her under his wing, and teaches her that she needs to get her head out of the clouds.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Have fun and don’t get stressed out. If you get stuck, just press forward with nonsense until your muse dislodges itself and lends a hand again. If you’re stuck for specific details on things you know nothing about, check out the Reference Desk forum. Hot drinks are great for keeping you calm and collected. And most of all: backups, backups, backups! Every year there’s at least a few people who lose all their hard work because of technological error. You can get a 4 gb flash drive for, like, $6, so there’s really no excuse!

Sneaky Ninja question! What’s your favorite midnight snack?
I’m not a midnight snack kind of person, because once I fall asleep I tend to stay asleep until the sun comes up, but as far as being awake during the dark hours, I’m a sucker for All Dressed chips. I could seriously sit and eat All Dressed chips and drink Crush Cream Soda pop and watch reruns of my favorite shows every single night for a month before I would even start to kinda get sick of them.

I’ve been writing since the third grade, through school and college, through my first job and my most recent, through my wedding and my marriage, through pregnancy and child-rearing, and I don’t plan to stop anytime soon. My goal is publication, which is coming closer every day, and someday I hope to be able to write for a living instead of just squeezing it into my life in my free time.  Before NaNo starts I am attempting to finish the editing and revisions of my zombie apocalypse novel tentatively titled Nowhere to Hide, and I hope to self-publish it in the new year.

And the link to my blog is http://nopageleftblank.wordpress.com

2 Responses to Nano Spotlight: No Page Left Blank

  1. Thanks for making me part of the project! 🙂

    Like

  2. […] can see my interview here, and stay tuned for more NaNoWriMo hyjinx in the near […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

