Nano Spotlight: Jessica Dall


Hey! The Nano spotlight interviews continue with Jessica.

Jessica’s experience with NaNo so far, in her own words:
This will be my sixth year doing NaNoWriMo (I’ve been participating since my college roommate introduced me to it in 2008. It has been an amazing experience so far, and has introduced me to so many amazing writers from all walks of life. I am very much looking forward to seeing what new writers we have in the DC area this year, and to starting writing once again, of course. I’ve won the past five years and hope to keep the streak going!

dyWhat are you writing about this year?
For NaNoNaNo Cover this year, I’m taking a break from a series I’ve been working on to play with a plot bunny that’s been messing around in my brain (Working title is “Name Magic” for now). It’s going to be a science fiction novel that’s meant to be a new take on the dystopian genre, but we shall see. I’m a pantser at heart, so I don’t have enough plotted out to know at all what’s going to happen to it. But yes, sci fi, maybe some romance…hopefully it will all come together at some point.

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
We’ll just have to wait and see. Brant will probably be fun, in a fish out of water sort of way. Eli’s probably going to end up being the best person morally, though. He seems to be the moral compass type.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Just keep going. Get stuck? Have your characters talk about how it really sucks that they’re all stuck at that exact moment. Eventually you’ll end up somewhere you can keep going (hopefully). And deleting is for December.

Sneaky Ninja question! What one thing are you most thankful for?
My family, most likely, who somehow put up with me November after November.

Jessica’s plug…
When not being insane every November, I work as a writer, editor, and creative writing teacher. My third novel, The Copper Witch (2011’s NaNo Novel), will be released in the spring of next year through 5 Prince Publishing, joining my other novels The Bleeding Crowd (also a NaNo novel) and Grey Areas (written in my pre-nano days). I am very excited for The Copper Witch’s release, it being my first foray into historical-based fiction after a long stretch of fantasy and sci fi. Hopefully my fans will have as much fun with it as I had writing it.

Taking my experience as a writer, teaching writing, and having worked at a small press, I also do my best to help new writers improve their writing and navigate the sometimes confusing world of publishing with tips and articles I post on my blog at jessicadall.com. Anyone with a question they would like me to address on my blog is always welcome to email me or send a tweet @JessicaDall.

One Response to Nano Spotlight: Jessica Dall

  1. […] To see my author interview on The Kelworth Files up today click here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

