Nano Spotlight: Joana From Words and Tea Bottles


Happy Thanksgiving to my fellow Canadians, and Happy Columbus Day to the Americans. This morning I’m pleased to spotlight Joana, or maemi as she’s known on the Nano website.

Joana’s history as a wrimo:
I’ve been doing NaNo since 2005, back when I was still in high school.  The most I’ve written in one day for NaNo was a little over 10,000 words in 2009, on the very first day of November.

What are you writing about this year?
My novel this year is about people with super powers.  A girl named Ellie is in her first year of college when her professor, who turns out to be over two-hundred years old, notices her talent with her healing power and recruits her into an organization that helps people like her.  There’s a lot more to it, but I’m still working out the kinks and everything.  It doesn’t even have a title yet, unfortunately!

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
I would say it’s the aforementioned professor.  As I said, she’s over two-hundred years old due to her own power being eternal youth, so she has a lot of personality and quite a lot of stories to tell.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Don’t sweat it.  It’s awesome to be able to say you won NaNoWriMo, but that isn’t all it’s about.  Spend time on the forums getting to know your fellow participants.  Go to local write-ins if you can, too!  I’m too far away and without a car so I can’t go to write-ins, but I’ve been to them in the past when I was in college and it’s awesome getting to meet up with people from your area and spending a few hours just focusing on your novel with them around to help.

Oh and try not to get addicted to coffee and/or soda.  Sleep is still important.

Sneaky Ninja question! How many Wrimos does it take to change a light bulb?
Two.  One to change the lightbulb and one to write about it, of course!

100_5228

I didn’t do NaNo last year because I was finishing up my BFA in creative writing and was putting together a portfolio that I’d be presenting at the start of December, but I’m really excited to be back!  I’ll actually be doing a few things this month in addition to NaNo, one of them being putting the finishing edits on a novel I’ll be self-publishing soon, called Nowhere Fast.  It’s kind of a tight squeeze since I plan on putting it out in December, but we’ll see how that goes!

2 Responses to Nano Spotlight: Joana From Words and Tea Bottles

  1. M.J. Fifield says:

    10,000 words in one day is super impressive. Last NaNo, I had about 10,000 words all month.

    Like

  2. Aussa Lorens says:

    I’m stalking all these NaNoWriMo blogs to get a feel for everyone participating… I can’t believe you wrote 10,000 words in a day?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

