Nano Spotlight: Jennifer Samson


Good morning, friends and followers. I’ve almost reached my full slate of wrimos to spotlight from now until the end of November, really excited about it. Today it’s Jennifer’s turn.

Jennifer’s history with Nanowrimo
I’ve been a Nano participant since 2002, so this will be my 12th Nano. I can’t remember how I found out about it, but knowing me and my internet habits, it was probably on a writing related message board. I decided to take part because I’d never written a novel in one fell swoop. The stuff I’d written previously was written as an online serial short stories strung together. I thought it would be a great challenge to write a book in a strict amount of time.

My favourite Nano memories are always of the planning stages and the initial weeks. I’m a very fast writer, and tend to finish early, so those initial weeks are really where I interact in the community the most. A lot of writing boards are kind of intimidating, and Nano is just fun and no pressure. No one cares if you’re writing something literary or totally ridiculous.

My Nano profile is http://nanowrimo.org/participants/ariesrising. I miss the days when you had a number … mine was 666 lol!

What are you writing about this year?
This year I’m challenging myself – I’m going to attempt two novels. One is a sequel to the four-book series I’m self publishing and follows the main character into her career in the Air Force. The other is a co-written chick lit novel that follows two post-college best friends who get involved in a murder mystery on a movie set. I’ve never co-written for Nano before, and my writing partner has limited time, so it’ll be interesting!

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
I really enjoy the character my co-writer came up with for our chick lit novel. Diana is feisty, opinionated and totally devoted to her more reserved best friend. She also has an obsession with a hockey player that borders on the ridiculous.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
My best piece of advice to start off strong is staying up past midnight and writing the minute Nano starts. I routinely knock out a few thousand words before I go to sleep – you wake up the next morning and you’re already good on word count and it gives you a chance to get ahead and feel totally accomplished.

Sneaky Ninja question! What’s the earliest clear memory you have?
I was probably around 3, and I remember my babysitter dropping and breaking a glass on our kitchen floor.

200 ramble words:
I decided to self publish my Brookline University series years ago, and I have one book left to finish editing. Nano has allowed me to write both prequels and sequels to this series, brooklinebookswhich has helped immensely with the major re-writes I did to prepare them for self-publishing. I also never would have self-published without Nano. One of the rewards for finishing one year was a free book from Lulu.com, which is where I ended up self-publishing. There’s nothing like holding a copy of your own book in yours hands. Now Createspace offers freebies for Nano winners, and I’m excited to try their self-publishing platform.

The pic I’ve attached is the covers for my four book self published series. The fourth book, Senior Year, I’m currently editing. I hope to get it out early next year.

One Response to Nano Spotlight: Jennifer Samson

  1. Sushi says:

    Glad to see someone else going for multiple novels as well. Bwahahahaha… I mean hooray!

    Like

Leave a Reply

