Nano Spotlight: Frenzied Writing


Good morning again! Though I’ve been chasing down a few people I’m waiting on interviews for, there’s lots of spotlights ready to go, so today I’d like to introduce you to Laurence, aka Frenzify, from Writing in a Frenzy

Laurence’s experience with NaNo so far.
This is my third year doing NaNoWriMo and my first year going into it with a solid plan. The first time I heard anything about it was in 2010, when someone I was following on Twitter posted something about Camp NaNoWriMo. I legitimately thought that it was an actual camp that people went to, to write novels, and I remember thinking that that sounded like a brilliant idea. But after arduous research, through the highly complex entity that is Google, of course, I found out it wasn’t a camp, but an online event where people from around the world all attempted to write a 50000 word novel in a month. And I remember thinking, “I am so going to do that.” So, I decided to do NaNoWriMo that November, improvising everything but the characters. And even though I cringe every time I read a single line from my 2010 NaNo story, I still loved the experience of writing it. Of actually managing to write a 50000 word novel. I’ll be the first to admit that my first NaNo novel was more or less garbage in terms of quality, but I still feel proud of myself for just shutting down my inner editor, and finishing a novel, even if it was just a first draft.

What are you writing about this year?
Did I say I’m going into it this year with a solid plan? Yeah . . . About that . . . But seriously, I’m attempting to write book one of a trilogy. I’m a fan of superpowers and superheroes, but supervillains are just so . . . not lame, exactly, but given a hard time. I want a story where villains are truly horrible people, but we get to see their perspective of things. I want a story where sometimes the villains actually win, and don’t give the heroes years to come up with a plan while the villain goes off on an insanely long monologue. Basically, I’m writing a story about a society where everyone has an ability and as a result, chaos is the norm with villains having the most power, for the most part. It’s . . . uh . . . probably not going to be child friendly.

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
Oh, that has to be Taylor, without a doubt. The number of times I’ve started stories again and reworked her character is crazy, but I know her far better than any of my other characters. Even if she is a psychotic, short-tempered villainess, who absolutely loves to kill, she is definitely my favourite character. Sure, she’s probably a huge as hell sadist, but she’s sweet to her family. That has to count for something, right?
Picture1
What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
During the month of November, there is no such thing as the backspace. Don’t worry about fixing or editing sentences. Don’t dawdle on chapters to try and perfect them. Don’t worry about trying to think of the best ever metaphor for a situation. NaNo is about writing and not looking back until you’re done.

Sneaky Ninja question! What have you learned from writing?
Surprisingly a lot about myself. One really important thing about myself, for sure, which shall remain safely in my head. But being able to express myself through my writing has allowed me to find out more about myself (if that makes sense) than if I didn’t have an outlet.

I’ve also learned that writing a novel is far from an easy task, and I can really respect the authors who put insane amounts of time and effort into their writing, whether they get them published or not. And I guess it’s kind of taught me to be more critical of published stories. Whether that’s a good thing or not, I don’t know. This mind of mine, huh? Strange ol’ thing, it is.

My shameless self promotion
Well, that’s the wonderful insight into my writing life. I hope it didn’t bore you. If you’d like, you could tweet at me at @LaurencePratt, where my tweets are pretty infrequent. You don’t have to subject yourselves to that, though. Check out my blog, Writing In a Frenzy, where I mainly ramble on about how my writing is coming along. I also sometimes rant about writing related issues, in general, and provide “helpful” (I’d use the term loosely) tips on certain aspects of writing. Where else can you contact me? Well, I don’t have Facebook, but there is my email, my phone number and my address . . . but I guess some information should be withheld.

Leave a Reply

