Nano Spotlight: WhiteWolfWriter


Good morning friends and followers. Though I hesitate to give Sushi less than her full day in the spotlight, something tells me it’s time to post another spotlight, so it’s WhiteWolfWriter’s turn. You can find out more about her on her blog.

WhiteWolfWriter’s NaNoWriMo Experience…
This is my second official year participating in NaNoWriMo, or at least, that’s what it says on my account. I had a different account prior to this one several years back… with the older account however I never actually participated, I more so just told myself I would over and over again until finally I deleted that account, I forget what prompted me to remake an account…

image

One of my favorite parts of NaNo last year (aka the first year I actually participated) was the write-ins. My region meets in a coffee shop inside a bookstore, ultimately the perfect place to write the novel I was working on as it took place in a bookstore! I met so many great interesting people. We had word wars and the tangent talks, write-in day became my favorite day of the week, and ultimately, I’m convinced, the reason I ended up completing the challenge.

What are you writing about this year?
This year I’m writing about death, life, and a dystopian society that brainwashes people into forgetting their loved ones! It’s currently classified as a mystery/thriller, but that’s always subject to change depending on how the story actually gets written.

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
At the risk of making my Main Character cease to cooperate with me, I’d have to say one of my supporting leads is actually the best character, thus far. His name is Jepson McMorrow; he works all day and drinks all night, and even though he’s tired and beaten down he can’t help but think that maybe he can change the world for the better.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Write. That’s it really. I’m sorry I can’t think of anything more elaborate or wonderfully worded, but really I just think that’s the only important advice I can give. If you’re worried you don’t have time, you do, just write whenever you can. Character being stubborn? Sit down and just write, eventually you’ll get them out of that corner and back on track. No plot? Just sit down and put your fingers on that keyboard, before you know it you have your character ducking in weaving through conflicts just to get from point A to point B. All it really boils down to is this: write.

Sneaky Ninja question! If you went missing, who would notice that something was wrong first?
My best friend of nine years. We share a name and a brain, and even though she’s hundreds of miles away she’d probably know something was up right away. Her spidey senses would go off! …Or well, you know, we would have gone longer than two days without texting and she’d assume I was dead.

Additional 200 words:
I would just like to take this opportunity to talk a little more about my last NaNoWriMo project, and also my first (self)published book, The Red Thread – available on Amazon. Unlike this year’s project, The Red Thread is a supernatural romance, that looks at how much things like love, destiny, and sewing supplies can change a person’s life:

“Charlotte Walker doesn’t believe in destiny. She believes in working for what you want; like her bachelor’s degree, or a date with her current crush. So when a fairground psychic offers to show Charlotte her romantic fate, she doesn’t see the point in refusing. After all, she believes in psychics about as much as destiny. But when the psychic turns out to be the real thing, Charlotte is forced to reevaluate her life, and the people in it; including the charming new regular at work.”

Or if you have the time, you could always check out my Amazon author’s page.

Leave a Reply

