Nano Spotlight: Talking to writer Rebekah Wolveire


Well, we’re well into week 2 of NaNoWriMo, and it’s Marathon day. How’s your word count doing? Today, I’m pleased to shine the spotlight on Rebekah.

My NaNoWriMo Experience:
This year will be my fourth year writing in NaNoWriMo. I am three for three so far. The first year, I learned that I burn out when I write more than eight-thousand words per day. I learned that I can write between 2k to 4k with word sprints.
I was very overwhelmed by 50k, but I have learned that if write about what I am interested in and I take one day at a time, it’s really fun.

What are you writing about this year?
This year I am rebelling, because I am continuing the same story that I have been working on for the last three years.  It started as a simple novel from a script I wrote in from high school, then turn into a novel with three parts. Now it’s a three novella trilogy.
It is about a man with mechanical skills who takes his revenge on car accidents. He takes out those who get in his way. He destroyed most of Neve’s family, and when she found out it was him, she decided to get her own revenge.

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
This is tie between Neve and Max who are both main characters. I go back and forth on their perspectives.
Neve grows up throughout the story. Her biggest conflict is her need for closure.
Max (Mark Tay) he is the villain. He feels he is simply putting justice in his own hands.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
I have so many things to say . . .

  1. Write something that excites you. By staying excited it will keep you into it.
  2. Take a notebook and pen whenever you go. You never know when you will get time to write.
  3. Sometimes by ending the day in the middle of sentence or a scene it can help you get back to writing the next day.
  4. There are many groups online that have word sprints. (You are given a certain amount of time and you just focus on writing. I’m always trying to beat my own word count with each sprint.)

Sneaky Ninja Question: What time in the day do you write the most?
I usually write the most between the hours of noon and 3am. Last year, I was writing everyday (I was home) between noon and 4pm, and I wrote a total of 102K words on two different projects. (The word sprints really helped me.)

Secret Ninja Bonus. . . Tell the blog about yourself:
I’m Rebekah Wolveire. I’m from Ohio. I live with my boyfriend and my cat Armand.

I have writing for about 20 years. I started in school with a program called Young Authors, and have been writing ever since. I am a publish poet and local playwright. I feel I am a story-teller first and a writer second. 
I fascinated with urban legends, the paranormal, and the occult. I love writing and telling ghost stories. I am currently working on a vampire series. I also have a writing blog in which I write about my creative writing experiences. In fact, just over the summer, I was working with beta readers. I also have more NaNoWriMo tips on that blog as well. (It’s in my links.)

My favorite authors are Anne Rice and Stephen King. My favorite TV show is currently Supernatural.

My Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/RebekahWolveire

My writing blog (I have a lot of tips for writing and NaNoWriMo on this site.)

Twitter: @RebekahWolveire

Tumblr: Rebekah1213

The Whispering Path E-copy Smashwords.com

The Whispering Path Paperback: Amazon

Or

BarnesAndNoble.com

melzela book 129

(If you want to beta read and/or edit my first vampire novel Melzela, please message me.)

Or Melzela first edition, on CreateSpace

One Response to Nano Spotlight: Talking to writer Rebekah Wolveire

Leave a Reply

