Nano Spotlight: The Dark Side of Dreaming


Good morning, friends and followers. This morning for your spotlight, I’ve got an interview from E.R. Womelsduff.

Tell us a little about your experience with Nanowrimo:
This is my first year doing NaNoWriMo.  I’d heard about it in passing before, but it wasn’t until my brother said that he’d signed up for it that I really checked out what it was and committed to being a part of it.  Sometimes it takes a little familial support (and healthy sibling rivalry) to get your butt in gear.

What DarkSideCoverare you writing about this year?
I am writing a sci-fi / cyberpunk crossover called The Dark Side of Dreaming about a girl who acts as a court jester in a world where those with the strongest wills can create anything with a single thought.  Referred to only as “The Glitch,” the leaders of the five interconnected worlds cannot control her because they do not know her true name, and she spends her time pointing out the fallacies in the systems they have created.  But when these leaders are murdered and their worlds begin to unravel, the Glitch finally understands her true, disturbing purpose.

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
Probably the Glitch.  She’s odd in that she has no real sense of community, lives outside the rules the others are bound to, and acts as a balancing force of random energy in their small ecosystem.  She’s a force of nature, and can be used for creation or destruction.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Well, this is my first year so I’m not sure I should be giving out tons of advice, but I doubt I would be successful at this if I weren’t doing it in tandem with my brother.  He’s writing a completely separate novel, but we’re going to keep each other accountable and on-track.  So having a writing buddy might be helpful for those lacking discipline (like me).

Sneaky Ninja question! What’s your favorite part of doing Nanowrimo?
So far?  I love the sense of camaraderie in the forums, and general air of excitement and creativity.  Also really jazzed that I will be publicly shamed on Facebook if I don’t finish this (good motivation for staying on-track).

Other Info
I write scripts, too, and reviews and poetry and blogs and essays.  Links to past and current projects:
www.erwomelsduff.com
www.steamvision.showitsite.com
www.eyeofthebeholder.showitsite.com
www.inmemorythefilm.com
www.impsofindustry.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

