Nano Spotlight: The Library Girl’s Novel


Nano word count check-in: I reached 30k at the Pier write-in last night, whoo-hoo! Today’s spotlight comes from gingerems and sponsered by her blog, The Library Girl.

Tell me about your history with Nanowrimo:
This is my first year attempting NaNoWriMo but certainly not my first time writing a story as I have written many stories though out my life including my fanfictions I have published on Wattpad. A few years ago my friend told me about NaNo and I have always wanted to do it and the reason I haven’t until now is mainly because I forgot what it was. I am a 17 year old British student who is hoping to go to university next year to study Journalism although being an author has always been a dream of mine.

What FindingYou_zps1e425fe5are you writing about this year?
This year my story focuses around a long distance relationship as I feel that there are not many books that touch this subject and that there needs to be something out there that long distance couples can relate to. It is calling Finding You which not only concentrates on how the couple met and found each other but how the other person makes them look into themselves and realise who they want to be and not who everyone wants them to be.

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
One of the best characters I am looking forward to introducing through my story is Daniel, the gay best friend of one for my main characters Cassie. He is so cliché gay it is unreal, but at the same time as being her gay best friend he is her brother. Cassie and her family don’t always get along and as an only child she turns to Daniel for comfort. As soon as there is a break up to see to or a well needed movie marathon Daniel is the first to arrive with face masks and ice cream.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
I know it may see weird me giving advice to anyone doing NaNo as this s my first year but when it comes to writing in general, let the story take you somewhere Don’t have this set-in-stone plan of each chapter Let the characters speak to you and take you places you didn’t think you would go. Let everyone come alive and show you the way instead of you telling them the way.

Sneaky Ninja question! Are you more of a planner, or a spontaneous person?
Saying this I do like to have a plan, even with every day things I love to have a plan but when it comes to writing although I have a rough outline of my story I never plan each chapter and I don’t develop my characters too much before hand as I want them to come alive whilst I write it and whilst you read about them and slowly get to know them.

I have been writing since as long as I can remember and English has always been one of my best subjects at school. My grandparents would always tell me stories and I would always make some up to amuse them. I am hoping to go off to university to study Journalism as although I would always dream of being an author, being a journalist to me is a way of helping people, providing them with information and enjoyment.

When I first posted my fan-fictions online I never expected them to get any views but now one has over one hundred thousand and it has only helped to boost my confidence when writing. I won’t be posting this story online but maybe in the future it will be on bookshelves. It might even be reviewed on someone’s blog just like I review books on mine.

All I will say is that anyone with an imagination can be a writer, we all have a story to tell.

Leave a Reply

