Nano Spotlight: Kate Warren


Good morning, friends and followers! We’re mid-way through November now, but thanks to my October head-start, I’ve already posted 30 spotlights! Here’s #31, Kate Warren:

Tell me a bit about your experience with Nano:
This will be my fifth NaNoWriMo.  Favorite memories include laughing like crazy at NaNo-isms and the Funniest Thing Written while Overtired thread, running the NaNorphans Guild, and the general warm-fuzzy feeling of a website and forums filled with people who understand about this writing thing.

What are you writing about this year?
I’m not sure.  I literally decide on November 1st.  My process is like this: sit down at the computer, start typing, see what comes up on the screen, go with it.  At the moment I’m leaning toward a humor/fantasy/mystery idea I’ve had for a while, but it may end up being something else.

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
I hope it’s the main one, but I have a lot of love for my secondary characters too.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
One day at a time.  You don’t have to write 50,000 words all at once, just 1,667 words per day.  Don’t stress about the number.  Some days you’ll write less, but some days you’ll write more.

Sneaky Ninja question! What’s the tastiest food ever, according to you?
Pizza!

I’d BridgingTheGaps - (199x300)like to put in a plug for my first ever NaNo novel, Bridging The Gaps, now available in print and eBook formats.  It’s the story of a family in transition as they deal with divorce, alcoholism, and teenage angst.  I consider it essentially a Comedy/Family Drama with romance elements.

My upcoming projects include: The DeFord Chronicles, Part II—historical fiction, the long-awaited sequel to my debut novel; a Regency trilogy; more in theDeFord Chronicles series; and a number of humor/parody novels currently in the planning stages.

Thank you, Chris, for allowing me to be part of your NaNo Spotlight series.  Best of luck with NaNo this year.

I hope to see all of you on the forums.

Links for Kate:

2 Responses to Nano Spotlight: Kate Warren

  1. Kate Warren says:

    Thanks for allowing me to be part of your NaNo Spotlight series, Chris!

    Like

    • Kate Warren says:

      Oh, and by the way I did end up writing the humor story. It’s called “North Pole: Confidential” and my favorite character so far is perpetually grumpy elf police sergeant Dennis O’Hurley. As to the best character, I can’t say at this point.

      Like

Leave a Reply

