Nano Spotlight: Emma Aveston’s Sweet Graffiti Monster


Hey there, friends and followers. Did you get lots of words written this weekend? 😉 Here’s an inspiring interview from Emma Aveston, aka emma31090

My nano experience:
This is my third year doing Nanowrimo and I’m determined to win this year since I don’t have any more pesky uni deadlines for mid-November. I’ve always written stories since I was a kid and made up games for the playground (the best was Combat Fairies by far) but I always struggled with finishing anything as my mind wanders to other things. Having that looming November deadline forces me to get things finished. The best part though is definitely the community which I’m only discovering this year. Everyone is so lovely and desperate to help each other.

What are you writing about this year?
This year I’m working on Her Sweet Graffiti Monster. It is the first in (what I hope will be) a trilogy that will keep me occupied for the next few years.

It starts when a little lonely girl called Megan disappears after school. Horrifying for her family, but it is the manner of her disappearance which causes the most problems for the world. You see, Megan and her Monster accidentally open a door to all the heavens that were ever dreamed of. And all the hells.

It’s a fantasy where mythology crashes into our little world of diets, tweets and 9 to 5s. My favourite bit will be writing about the Greek gods of Olympus. Can you imagine what has happened to all-powerful immortal beings a couple of thousand years after they were ignored by their subjects? They’re not all that happy.

Persephone (spotlight blog 2)

Who’s the best character in your Nano novel?
I love all my main characters to bits, but my favourite is definitely a secondary one, Hera. That’s probably because in every book I read I always love hating the villain the most. And I’ve always hated Hera in Greek mythology. She’s meant to be this a paragon of womanhood, that is when she’s not off hunting down the rape victims of her husband, murdering babies or generally being a spiteful witch really. She’s going to be great fun to write, especially since the King of the Gods isn’t around to reign her in any more.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Tell EVERYONE what you’re doing. Ask your mates to ask about your word count every day. Tell your mum to ground you if you haven’t met it. Make people threaten you publicly. I get my boyfriend to poke me if I’m being lazy. If everyone knows what your doing, then it’s harder to give up. Most importantly, make loads of nano friends! They will all help you struggle past that wall you get in week 2.

Sneaky Ninja question! Out of your favourite fictional characters, who’s the smartest and what makes you think so?
Well Sherlock Holmes in probably the most intelligent, but I think I’m going to go for Willy Wonka. Closing your doors on the world and living in a factory made of chocolate? What isn’t smart about that?

My 200ish words:
I have a website! Gosh, what a surprise! Tell us more about it Emma! Oh, well if you insist. In a thousand blades of grass is named after my favourite literary quote ever from Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Materials. It is my ambition to be a writer/screenwriter and my site has a variety of my writing on it, from short stories to short screenplays and some artwork based around my writing, it even has one of these blog thingamies. The most exciting thing is that I’m going to post my NaNoWriMo novel up, chapter by chapter, probably from around mid-November. So if you’re looking for something interesting to read or something to kill time at work, emmaaveston.wordpress.com is where it’s at people. Oh and if you send the link to that amazing publisher/filmmaker who is looking for an amazingly talented young woman that you clearly all know, that would be cool too. If not, come over and say hi anyway. I’m nice and I can’t bite you over the internet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

