What’s Up Wednesday? The freakin’ Polar Vortex!


What’s Up Wednesday is a weekly blogfest to share the answers to a few simple questions… Join us!

ROCKETBORDERWhat I’m reading:

Well, I just finished the ‘Lockstep’ serial in Analog magazine, loved the ending, but I’ve still got lots of magazine stories to read. Also finished ‘Vampire Diaries: Shadow Souls’ from the library, and been catching up on podcasts, but I just bought me some new books at Audible: The Handmaid’s Tale, Dune, Samdman Slim, and Thuvia Maid of Mars.

What I’m writing:

Finished the draft synopsis of “Alien Love on a Kitchen Scale,” and started getting back to revisions of  “Gotta Have that Look.” Once again having issues trying to figure out how much critique feedback to take and what to ignore, sigh.

What inspires me right now:

The Kitchen Scale soundtrack, Castle, Stringing Words, and the new Odfellows newsletter.

What else I’ve been up to:

Not very much. We drove around looking at new office locations for my day job team yesterday; looks like we have to be moved by March at the latest. Calling around to family making plans for my sister’s birthday. 🙂

What about you? Click here to join the hop or check in with some other great writers.

11 Responses to What’s Up Wednesday? The freakin’ Polar Vortex!

  1. Colin says:

    I’m looking forward to critique feedback on my novel soon. I know there will be comments that immediately make sense–things that I might have known deep down were wrong but needed someone pointing them out for me to acknowledge them and do something about them. And then there will be comments that might be a matter of style or preference that I can consider, but are less important. The really interesting category is those comments you never thought about, but come up in more than one person’s critique. Some of these might be to do with things you don’t want to change, but might have to bite the bullet with if others agree there’s a problem.

    I don’t know if there’s anything there to help you, Chris–at the very least, know that I sympathize with you! Have a great week. 🙂

    Like

  2. figuring which crits to listen to and what doesn’t feel right for your WIP can be tough. Sometimes it feels like you’re too close to the story to really think rationally. Either way congrats on all the progress you’ve made with your writing!

    Like

  3. Kate Scott says:

    You have the greatest titles ever! I have no idea what “Alien Love on a Kitchen Scale” is even about, but I would buy that book on the title alone.

    I hope you have a great week.

    Like

  4. Miss Cole says:

    I’m editing a synopsis at the moment, too. You’d think it’d be easy… There must be a special skill involved, one I really need to develop.

    Good luck with your revisions. Have a lovely week!

    Like

  5. Melanie says:

    I read a couple Vampire Diaries books (the first two I think) and this was one of those VERY rare occasions where I actually like the show better! Shocking, I know. So I haven’t tried any other since.

    Like

  6. Kim Graff says:

    Congrats on finishing your draft synopsis! That’s great 🙂
    So you’re a Castle fan, huh? I used to love that show but now that Kate and Castle are together I just feel so meh about it. The last few episodes have been so formulaic it makes me cringe.

    Like

  7. Kitty says:

    I’m with Kate – I’m loving that title! 🙂 As far as critique comments – I always remember a quote I read from Neil Gaiman once that went something like…. when someone tells you what is wrong with your MS, they’re almost always right. When they tell you how to fix it, they’re almost always wrong. (I’m paraphrasing.) Have a great week and good luck with the writing!

    Like

    • I heard something similar from Mercedes Lackey at a talk she gave at Ad Astra a few years ago. 🙂 But that was about a beta reader she particularly trusted. I think some readers see problems just because your story isn’t the story that they want to read.

      Like

  8. Kris Atkins says:

    For me, I consider all feedback, and take what resonates–whether that’s right away or after some time thinking. But there’s always the outlier note that really puzzles you. Good luck!!

    Like

  9. Kris Atkins says:

    Also, another shout out for the fact that your titles are awesome! I’m impressed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

