Q is for Quiver of the Quixotic Queen


For the A to Z challenge this year, I’m sharing science fiction and fantasy story ideas…

So, Q is a kinda tough letter to work with, but I love the idea of a quixotic queen. Quixotic is a word rooted in the adventures of Don Quixote, of course, (though it’s not pronounced the Spanish way,) and it refers to somebody who’s excessively impractical, with unrealistic ideals.

So I picture a queen who’s grown fed up with outlaws or corruption in her country, who starts running around the countryside with a bow and quiver of arrows trying to fight the good fight even when she’d be wiser not to.

If you’re interested enough to pick this up and write your own version, feel free; ideas are cheap. And let me know! I’ll be keeping the notions vague enough that lots of different stories might be written from them.

Thanks for visiting!

6 Responses to Q is for Quiver of the Quixotic Queen

  1. Quixotic Queen could make the basis of a great fairy tale! Right now I have just caught up with the latest in the Game of Thrones – talk about a quixotic queen!

    Like

  2. Trisha says:

    I like the idea of this story – it made me laugh, anyway. 😛

    Like

  3. Leslie Rose says:

    Cool idea AND it’s fun to say. New follower here – *waves*.

    Like

  4. doreeweller says:

    Cool idea, and I like the image you put forth too. I never knew that’s where the word quixotic came from, but from here on out, I’m going to add that to my list of useless facts with which to annoy others. Just stopping by to say “hi!”

    Like

  5. Fun. Placing that character against the right background could make for an epic story. I would just hope the character would grow out of her ways through the length of the tale.

    True Heroes from A to Z

    Like

  6. Liz Brownlee says:

    Quixotic indeed! And in deed…

    Liz A-Zer, http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

