R is for Rainbow Rider


For the A to Z challenge this year, I’m sharing science fiction and fantasy story ideas…

I know that this concept was used offhand in the Xanth series (specifically ‘Centaur Aisle’,) but I love the idea of a fantasy character who can get from place to place by climbing onto a rainbow and riding it. How does he (or she) catch up to the rainbow and touch it? Where does it take the riders? Obviously this would have to be a very magical realm, where not much science is operative.

If you’re interested enough to pick this up and write your own version, feel free; ideas are cheap. And let me know! I’ll be keeping the notions vague enough that lots of different stories might be written from them.

Thanks for visiting!

5 Responses to R is for Rainbow Rider

  1. Rhonda Parrish says:

    When I read the words ‘rainbow rider’ I immediately thought of the Care Bears (who I love. Don’t judge :-p). They had cloud cars and were often portrayed and sliding on rainbows. They didn’t use them as transportation in quite the way you’re describing (which I agree, would be cool) but still, that’s the first thing I thought of 😉

    Like

  2. Trisha says:

    This made me laugh because if this person lived in Western Australia, they’d have been stranded for basically 6 months because we haven’t had any rainbow-inducing weather 😛

    Like

  3. Jan Morrison says:

    Once, while in the Scottish Highlands, a rainbow came into our car! Magic! Cape Breton is full of rainbows too. I’d love to ride one…thanks for this idea.

    Like

  4. Leslie Rose says:

    Oh my gosh, I used to fantasize about riding a rainbow as a kid.

    Like

  5. mel says:

    Big rainbow brite fan! Will revisit that old childhood love and see if any ideas spark.

    Like

Leave a Reply

