A few more drawings


I picked up the sketchbook and drawing textbook again this weekend, so here’s what I managed to draw:

First off, an attempt to draw Peter Capaldi as Doctor Who, based on a still frame from near the beginning of “Robot of Sherwood.” I tried to do this a week earlier with a full-face portrait of Jenna-Louise Coleman as Clara, and gave up in the middle because I couldn’t get her to look anything like right. It’s possible my standards were too high for Jenna. This doesn’t really look like Capaldi, but at least I got myself to finish and it’s recognizably a man:

drawings 003

Next, two exercises out of the ‘Drawing out of the Right Side of the Brain’ workbook. The first one, I had to change a little, because the assignment was to draw an American Flag with the stripes rumpled up. Here in Canada, I didn’t have one just lying around, but I found a striped towel and draped it over an air conditioner nozzle:

drawings 002

And finally, a still life of eggs under an overhead light, to provide interesting shadows. (One of the eggs is sitting on a small Mason jar.)

drawings 001

Whatcha think? I need lots more practice, but I think I’m managing some cool progress.

2 Responses to A few more drawings

  1. I love seeing your exercises – they come from the same side of the brain as creativity in writing, yes? I know a lot of writers who also sketch or paint, so keep it up!

    Like

    • I’m starting to think that there’s a lot more than two sides to the brain. What Betty Edwards calls right-side brain is very different from my writing muse, it’s a way of thinking that can’t label things in words. Definitely a good part of my brain to nurture for creative options though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

