Nanowrimo Spotlight: P.D. Kirby


Well, we’ve still got almost two weeks until Nanowrimo, but I’ve been getting lots of people interested in doing spotlights, yay! Tonight, it’s Paul’s turn. You can find Paul at pdkirby.com or on the Nano site as airborneporcine. Here’s Paul explaining the technicalities of his Nano history:
I pdkirbyconsider this year my first NaNoWriMo, although technically it’s my second. I attempted to complete NaNo back when I was seventeen, but I never got more than 1,000 words off the ground due to school and the like. No excuse based on the people I’ve been meeting, but it makes me feel better to say I didn’t even get the chance to start back then!

I decided to take part again because I have always had stories trying to get out, but other things in my life have taken the spotlight instead. This year, I got back into live role-playing in a few online games, and realized how much I missed being able to invent my own worlds, and really pour my emotions out on paper. I work as a software developer as my day job, so writing is also a very nice counterpoint to my normal, logical days.

What are you writing about this year?
I’m writing a psychological science-fiction novel this year, dealing with the topic of identity. It asks the question: “Why are we often defined more by our outward appearances or by our actions?” In one sentence, this will be a novel about a thrill-seeking young woman who finds herself transplanted into someone else’s body and, with help from a troubled psychiatrist, leaves her world as she knows it to search for her true identity. My working title is “Upprisa Awakening”.

What is your favourite book?
Daniel Keyes’ “Flowers for Algernon” (the novel, not the short story) has been my favourite book since I first read it in high school. I think the way Keyes used grammar and style to show the transformation of the main character was brilliant, and the conflict between intelligence and emotion really hit home for me, especially in the final scenes. Highly recommended if you like stories that make you think!

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Commit to the 50k. Tell everyone you know you’re doing it. Blog about the experience as I am. Put in enough time before November so that when you hit that slump and want to give up, you can tell yourself “You can’t just give up all that work you’ve done/disappoint all those people!” Guilt is a powerful motivator!

What catchphrase do you say often in conversation?
Being Canadian, I have to admit that I use phrases ending in “eh?” very, very frequently. It just sounds so much better than “huh?”.

Thanks for reading everyone! I’m hoping those of you who are fans of books that make you think will keep a close eye on my NaNo novel, “Upprisa Awakening” (working title). Oh, and if you have any sci-fi book suggestions or want a beta reader, I’d be happy to help! Contact me on twitter (@pd_kirby) or on my website (http://pdkirby.com) and we’ll work something out, plus you can follow my progress and see some of my other writing!

2 Responses to Nanowrimo Spotlight: P.D. Kirby

  1. Thanks for doing this interview, Chris!

    Like

  2. […] Nanowrimo Spotlight: P.D. Kirby […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

