Nanowrimo Spotlight: Mandy Eve-Barnett


Hello wrimos, friends and followers! We’re nearly a week into November already, can you believe it? Today I’m shining the spotlight on Mandy, whose Nanowrimo profile is mandyb, and has a website at http://mandyevebarnett.com/

What are you writing about this year?
This will be my fifth NaNoWriMo and I am more nervous than previous years as the genre is a new venture for me and I am unsure I can pull it off. This is mostly due to my being a fanatic Stephen King reader! I am not sure the story I am planning is a ‘real’ genre but it is an erotic thriller. The idea came from three real news stories and I merged some of the details into one. My protagonist flees a crime in blind panic, thinking he will return. However, life does not go down that path. I will leave the rest to your imagination. Working title : The Giving Thief

What is your favorite book – you have to pick just one!
A tough choice for an avid reader of King novels but I chose Ferney by James Long. It is a reincarnation story and I re-read it regularly. I have researched reincarnation and experienced regression too – fascinating.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Don’t panic about achieving those 50K words…it is a process, enjoy it – no matter if you succeed or not, you have a body of work to build upon. Remember it is only a starting point not the finished product – that takes at least a year (or two!)

Sneaky Ninja question! Do you tend to avoid conflict with other people or face it head-on?
I may be only 5 foot 1 inch but I’m fierce. If you upset me, a member of my family or a close friend, you have me to deal with. I hit low and hard. Case in point – I scared older boys who had hurt my younger brother with a length of chain! Even decades later I was eyed with nervousness by those same boys who had become burly men.

Book coverI began writing later in life after emigrating to Canada and am now making up for lost time. My published books include two children’s books, Rumble’s First Scare and Ockleberries to the Rescue and an adult fantasy romance, The Rython Kingdom. Other works are included within an anthology, Writing Prompt Journey and a workbook for memoirs, Your Lifetime of Stories. All the links can be found on my website.

My NaNoWriMo challenges have enabled me to create a speculative fiction novel, Life in Slake Patch, a romance reincarnation novel, The Twesome Loop and a western romance, Willow Tree Tears as well as the starting point for Ockleberries to the Rescue.

I am also a freelance writer and regularly contribute to two e-zines Strathcona Connect and Old Strathcona and assist a client with online social media and blogs. There are plenty of samples on my site if you need my services.

One Response to Nanowrimo Spotlight: Mandy Eve-Barnett

  1. Reblogged this on Mandy Eve Barnett's Official Blog and commented:
    I was put in the spotlight for NaNo – check out the other NaNoWriMo challengers on Kelworth Files.

    Like

Leave a Reply

