Nanowrimo Spotlight: Ellie Chases Romance


Greetings, friends and followers. I’m looking for new volunteers for spotlight interviews, but today I’ve got a spotlight on Ellie Chase. You can find Ellie on Facebook, or on Nanowrimo as dragonscale.

How long have you been participating in Nanowrimo, Ellie?
I was first introduced to NaNo at a summer camp back in 2003. I have been trying halfheartedly ever since. A few times I’ve lasted until the end of week one, but rarely even that long. This is my first year going all out and completely determined to win. My goal is actually 100k, but I’ll be over the moon if I make it to 50k.

Having a book in print has always been a dream in the back of my mind. Nothing major, just anything with that professional looking cover. I’ve been hacking away at an idea for close to five years but couldn’t get further than the ending. No beginning or middle, minimum character development, only and ending. This year I’m starting from scratch and feel very confident.

What are you writing about this year?
Although I was originally planning on writing a fantasy novel, my characters have developed it into a romance. There is adventure, danger, and the simmering romance of two clashing personalities.

What is your favorite book – you have to pick just one!
Oh dear, just one? Picking one series is difficult, let alone one book haha. At least currently, my favorite is The Darkest Kiss by Gena Showalter. I really enjoy her Lords of the Underworld series and her characters are wonderful to follow.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Do the fifteen minute sprints. I have a very loud internal editor and trying to work around that is difficult. Toss in a full time job, a husband working opposing shifts, a six month old infant, and part time college….it is too easy to push off writing because I don’t have time. By doing a fifteen minute sprint, it is possible to crank out 500 or 600 words. Do that two or three times a day and voila! You’ve met your daily goal. It won’t look pretty, but that is what first drafts are for.

Sneaky Ninja question! Are you more comfortable in a large group or talking with just one other person?
I am generally more comfortable in a large group of people. Whether I am in charge and speaking publicly, or if I am just mingling and meeting new people I definitely enjoy the larger groups. If I don’t know a person well, the one-on-one setting makes me nervous. You would think it would be the other way around, huh?

EllieChase

She wants to change the past…Warring dragons are destroying Hendara. The human race is collateral damage and fading away. When a questionable legend promises the impossible, Maggie jumps at it with both hands. She wants nothing more than to turn back the clock. Then the truth surfaces and she must make the ultimate decision. Can she afford to get it right?

He wants to make a future… It is obvious to Declan that Maggie wants nothing to do with him. But the promise of discovering Dragonlore first hand is too much to resist and nothing will convince him to leave. Before long he realizes that he can’t let her go. With the decision out of his hands, can Declan convince Maggie that they deserve a happy ending?

Follow me on Facebook to see more of Maggie and Declan’s development throughout NaNo!

Thanks for sharing with us, Ellie!

Leave a Reply

